Jewish Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This recipe is wonderful, however I did make a some changes based on reading others' reviews: 2 cups of sugar instead of 2 1/2, I used 5 apples instead of 3 (Granny Smith), I added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, I used apple sauce instead of vegetable oil (I found Granny Smith apple sauce, so I used that), I kept the dry ingredients separate, and then added them to the wet ingredients, and finally I dusted with confectioners' sugar after the cake cooled. Also, I cut the apples first, and put them in a bowl of water with a few drops of lemon juice to keep them from turning brown while I'm making the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockledge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I have been making this cake and variations of it for 25 years. As has been pointed out, it can take a lot of add ins. I always use four cups of apples and more cinnamon. Also, I bake it at 300 for 1 hour and 45 minutes and it is always perfect. If you want a real slice of heaven, substitute fresh peaches for your summer picnics - delicious. This is always the favorite when taken to any event. It is a heavy cake and gets better with each day - if you can keep it around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
I loved this recipe! My mother-in-law loved it so much she asked for the recipe. I made some changes though: substituted applesauce for the oil, mixed dry ingredients separately and added them to the wet, reduced amount of sugar to 1 1/2 cups to reduce sweetness added from applesauce, greased, sugared and floured pan, and finally, I dusted the cake with powdered sugar once cool. I promise, this cake is so moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This recipe is really good. I got rave reviews. I would give this five stars but I made some changes like others had suggested (from Erin on 3/22/05): I used 5 apples instead of 3, I used apple sauce instead of vegetable oil, I kept the dry ingredients separate, and then added them to the wet ingredients. Finally I put a glaze on top after the cake cooled. My husband is still raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I have made this cake dozens of times, and it has never failed yet. I did make some personal adjustments. I bake it in a bundt pan and I always use at least 5 or 6 apples, my family loves more apples, and I adjust the cinnamon, family loves cinnamon, and suarg for the extra apples, and I add a least 1/2 cup or more of raisins to the apple mixtureand it doesn't affect the cooking time because the bundt takes a little longer anyway. I also dust it with confectioner's sugar (caster sugar) through a sieve when it is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Good recipe, but needs tweaking, as other reviewers have stated. I substituted applesauce for all the oil, used 5 medium Granny Smith apples, used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour in place of 1 cup all-purpose flour, cut back the sugar to 2 cups, added 1/2 cup each of raisins and chopped walnuts. Soaked the raisins in the egg/juice/vanilla mixture while I peeled and sliced the apples thinly, mixed the nuts with the dry ingredients, added the applesauce, then the other wet mixture to the dry, baked in 10" tube pan for 70 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This came out exactly as I was hoping! It had a beautiful texture and the taste was phenominal. My husband was pleased too, and he was expecting it to be bland. I did use brown sugar instead of white, I didn't have enough. I also upped the cinnamon and added fresh nutmeg and allspice. I just finished a piece with my coffee and it was heaven. The taste improves the next day. I don't know if I'll be able to tell how it tastes the third day- my husband will probably finish off the last half today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
i have made this cake with apples five times. then i started to try other fruit the apple is the best. it is very quick and easy to make and it is a showy cake! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I got a lot of compliments but there are some things that I did different and that I'd do differently next time. First, I'd use apple sauce in place of all the oil. I used half apple sauce and half oil when I made it but think it would have been fine with all apple sauce. I cut out some of the sugar and next time, I would have used some brown sugar instead of white. I used Granny Smith apples and the tart taste of the apples complimented the cake well. Next time I'd add more apples though. I also would have kept the wet ingredients separate from the dry ingredients until the very last minutes to see if it would have helped in lightening up the cake a little. Apparently, not keeping wet and dry separate until the last minute will cause long gluten strands to form which will make the dough tougher or heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Always a crowd pleaser. I use 2 cups of sugar and more apples - 5 or 6, so it takes about 90 min. to bake. This is a pretty cake as is, but I sometimes drizzle with a simple glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States