Jewish Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Great apple cake. I followed other reviewer's suggestions and used apple sauce instead of oil; reduced the sugar to 2 cups; used 5 apples; and used a brown sugar/cinnamon/nutmeg/allspice mix on the apples. This cake does get better after a couple of days. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Study reciepe carefully write down steps and indegreients I wound up coating cut up apples with cinnamon & extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
one of the best resipes for cke i've tried. it was the first one that i've baked that turned out perfectly! the only thing that i would recommend is to make sure you have a gallon of vanilla ice cream handy as everyone has told me that is the only thing missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, California, USA
Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This recipe is out of this world. I have made it several times now. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly. After reading reviews, I decided to use more apples the next times and it turned out even better and moister. I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very, very good. I made a few changes. I used 5 apples, 8 tablespoons sugar and 1 full tablespoon cinnamon in the apples. I mixed all my dry ingredients seperately and added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a teaspoon of nutmeg for a little spicey kick. As for the wet ingredients...the only change I made was that I used 3/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 veg oil instead of 1 cup oil. With the applesauce I used a mix of regular applesauce and some orange/mango flavored applesauce that I had on hand. Nice flavor and it made the cake lighter than all oil. I made three batter/apple layers in a bundt pan and cooked it on the bottom rack of the oven. Cooking any higher causes the top to brown too quickly. This is a thick cake and needs lots of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe is awesome!!! I sent some with my husband to take to our business and one of our employees went crazy over it and demanded that my husband hand over his own piece of it. I made a few modifications to the recipe: I pretty much split the white sugar recommendation in half and used brown sugar for the other half. I also doubled the cinnamon and threw in a teaspoon or so of nutmeg, I used 4 large apples and mixed in some raisins and a little walnuts. I would also suggest mixing the apple, nut, raisin mixture into the batter a bit more than just layering it in the center, it just seems to cook a little better. This goes great with a cup of coffee for breakfast or makes a wonderful desert, I drizzled it with a sauce I made with molasses, butter and brown sugar and it was incredible!!! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephstaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was an awesome cake! I very much appreciated all the suggestions from previous cooks. I did alter the recipe based on the reviews. I added the zest of 1/2 an orange, 3 teaspoons of vanilla. I used 4 fist size rome apples and 1 large granny smith apple. Also I have to admit, this cake took close to 1 1/2 hrs to cook. I always use an external oven thermometer so I'm sure the 350 degrees was accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I don't usually change recipes the first time I make them, but I read the reviews so I used five apples like a lot of other people who revieww this recipe. However, what many people didn't seem to mention was doubling the cinnamon and sugar that you mix with the apples. I did double that because I like a nice cinnamon taste. I only had canola oil (I made this at school) and I also used pineapple juice instead of orange which is always what my mom used when I was a kid for her jewish apple cake. Quite frankly this was the best Jewish Apple Cake I've ever made in 30 years! I'm not allowed to have white flour and sugar, but when I saw how delicious and moist this looked I cheated. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This cake was easy and VERY tasty. I used five smallish apples and if I make it again I'll increase it even more because I like to have apple in every bite. I split the 1 cup of oil into 1/2 oil 1/2 applesauce and the cake was plenty moist. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States