Jewish Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Thank you for the recipe. I read a few of the other suggestions and used a bunt pan. The display was beautiful. I brought this to a Jewish party and the cake was a hit!! " this was the best cake ever," stated by my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Sooooo good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is so easy and delicious! I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8x8 pan for 45 minutes. I also eliminated fat by subbing homemade applesauce for the oil and egg whites for the eggs. This is my new go-to recipe for apple season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was the best. Small changes: 1/2 c. applesauce and 1/2 c. oil verses 1c. oil. Only 2 c. of sugar, and 6 t. of baking powder, more cinnamon and brown sugar instead of white on the apples. I used 5 large apples. Made 3 layers of apples, bottom, middle and top. It looked like a pro made it and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
OMG, yummy! Even my daughter and husband who haven't got a single sweet tooth between them, both loved this. I made a second one two days after the first for a party, and everyone was asking for the recipe. I used spelt flour as a subsitute for regular flour (due to dietary restrictions) and it came out flawless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This cake tasted good but I didn't like how it seperated from all the apples being right in the middle. I think it would have turned out better if the apples were mixed into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Yum, I loved this and so did my whole office when I brought in the leftovers on Monday morning. I made two small changes - one an accident and the other to accomodate eating preferences. First, I chopped the apples instead of slicing but the texture turned out fine so no problem there. I also added about 1/2 a teaspoon each of ground cloves and allspice, and 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. Because one of my coworkers is vegan, I used 1/2 c. of baby applesauce and 1/2-3/4 c. of soymilk instead of eggs. It turned out moist and delicious - a real hit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I have never eaten Jewish Apple Cake let alone make one. My husband was craving it. I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. A-W-E-S-O-M-E! I did take the advice of other viewers and used apple sauce instead of oil. I also used more apples but only because we love apples not because it was suggested. But I left everything else exactly the same. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing, Shirleyo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMJESS2588

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I got a lot of compliments but there are some things that I did different and that I'd do differently next time. First, I'd use apple sauce in place of all the oil. I used half apple sauce and half oil when I made it but think it would have been fine with all apple sauce. I cut out some of the sugar and next time, I would have used some brown sugar instead of white. I used Granny Smith apples and the tart taste of the apples complimented the cake well. Next time I'd add more apples though. I also would have kept the wet ingredients separate from the dry ingredients until the very last minutes to see if it would have helped in lightening up the cake a little. Apparently, not keeping wet and dry separate until the last minute will cause long gluten strands to form which will make the dough tougher or heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Wonderful, I followed the suggestions re cutting down on oil and sugar and added more apple. I made for my contractors who had just finished the kitchen, it disappeared in a flash. They ate it warm with a dollop of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bedelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States