Jewish Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
LOVED IT! I used mini bundt pans to make the recipe easy to share. They only took about 30 minutes to bake, making 10 little cakes. Because the pans were small, I cut the apple slices in half. Other than that, I followed the recipe making no changes to the ingredients or the temperature. Thank you Shirleyo for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This was very good. Used 3/4 c coconut oil and 1/4 c sour cream instead of vegetable oil. Decreased sugar to 2 cups. Increased number of apples. Also used apple cider instead of orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Excellent, very moist. I used pineapple juice in place of the orange juice. I always use more than 3 apples when making this cake and today I used two pears as well as 3 apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
really nice plain cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I always double this recipe, and always use 4 apples per cake. This cake freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This cake was melt in your mouth moist and delicious. Best apple cake recipe on the site. Try it... you won't be disappointed, I promise! Thanks so much, shirleyo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this for the first time after picking 25 pounds of apples. I increased the apples to 5, used a combination of Fiji and Braeburn and used apple cider instead of orange juice. It was wonderful. I gave some to my son's in-laws and they have been asking for more ever since. It was flavorful, moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
wonderful receipe! I used 4 small loaf pans and it took less than 30 min of baking. I used 6 apples. lots of cinimmon and sugar like others recommended, and substituted lemon juice instead of the orange juice. it tasted like an apple pie filling and was great even a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Just finished having a slice while still warm from the oven. This cake is delicious, nice and moist. The changes I made were to use half brown sugar and half white, for a total of two cups. Also used half cup applesauce and half cup oil. I added allspice, nutmeg and clove since I like it a bit more spicy. I used about two ups diced various apples that I can on hand and did not layer. Just mixed all the wet ingredients into the dry ones and added the diced apples in the end. Baked for 50 minutes in a 9X13 tray. Will definitely make this one again, with less sugar next time and will try it with diced peaches when they come into season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe! I make it for my mother, she absolutely loves it, and anybody that tries it is sure to compliment me on how good it is. I only do a couple of things differently, mostly because I had to- we don't have a tube pan, so I use a bundt pan instead and I alternate the layers of batter and apples so that the apples are all on the inside. It makes for a very moist and delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickadeet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States