Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by evanruss
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
wow this cake is fabulous. its so rustic and kinda reminds me of an apple pie. definately something that will be made over and over haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evanruss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I have eaten this cake for over 40 years. My mother made it every Easter. One year I made it without the layers. I just mixed all the ingredients and put it in the pan. That is the way I have made it ever since. IT IS VERY MOIST this way!!! My husband took the cake and recipe to work. People have tried it both ways and agree the mixing is much more moist. ENJOYMENT is found no matter which way you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I've taken this recipe to numerous potlucks and never had any leftover to take home. Everyone raved. This is an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was so very good.. I too doubled the recipe and added some extra apples. My family went nuts for this. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leeniewho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
The taste was there, but it came out kind of grainy, like a cornbread. I'll still be looking for a good Jewish apple cake recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Very very good! My family really enjoyed it. It was my first tiem making an apple cake and this recipe was easy to follow and seems fool proof to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganeloise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
A great cake 1st time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Great recipe. I used part brown sugar for this and 1/2 cup oj and 6 macintosh apples. Since I used a Bundt pan and the top would not be visible, I used the marbling effect when adding the apple mixture. Delicious, got many compliments, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Oh my stars, this is good! I made modifications as per other reviewers: Use 4-5 apples, blend them with 1/2 C sugar + 1 Tbsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves, 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Make 3 "layers" of the cake, 2 of the apples. Use 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup apple sauce. Mine baked for 71 minutes. And last but not least...top the warm baked cake with caramel glaze: 1/4 butter, 1/4 cup brown sugar, a tsp or so of milk or cream. Bring to a boil, let cool slightly & drizzle over the cake. I think one slice is worth about 30 WW points, but honey...it'll take ya to a place you've never been...go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States