Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This cake was really good. I would have added one or two more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I gave it one star because there were no minus stars. I followed this recipe to the letter and the dough was like greasy bread dough, it said pour into the mold...but this you had to lay out it was so stiff. It didn't even rise, the apples were overdone sticky, and the cake is so heavy it could be used as a weapon. Worst recipe I have ever followed. I should have stayed with my own recipe instead of trying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Follow the recipe exactly and adjust your oven if necessary. I make this exact same recipe for my cafe and people rave over it - and keep coming back and ordering several at a time. In my oven at work - 77 minutes. At home, 60 minutes. Know your ovens, folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia I.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This was my first bundt cake and I must say I am quite pleased with it. The texture is awesome - crispy on the outside and moist and tender inside. I would not recommend making 1 1/2 times the batter as some have suggested. The volume of the cake is just right as is - it bakes into a perfect ring shape. I guess if you wanted more of a volcano shape, you could use more batter, although I'd be afraid it would overflow as it baked. My personal tweaks were as follows: I diced my apples (12 oz. - about 3 medium) and tossed them with 1 tablespoon cinnamon and 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of using the 2 tsp. cinnamon and 5 tsp. white sugar, then folded them into the batter. Having no orange juice, after wracking my brain I decided to use Triple Sec instead (1/2 cup), which seemed to do nicely. I also increased the vanilla to 1 tablespoon and added 1 tsp. nutmeg for extra flavor. Finally, I topped the cake with a simple caramel glaze (1/4 brown sugar + 1/4 cup butter + 1 tsp. milk), which was awesome. The only thing I'd do differently next time is increase the amount of apples (probably a full 16 oz.) and this cake would be truly perfect. BTW, mine baked in only 65 minutes, so keep a close eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Baked the Jewish Apple Cake last night, a slice of vanilla ice cream..yum! The whole house smelled like apples and cinnamon! For Apple Cake: Used 6 medium apples, 1/2 c for the 5 t sugar, OJ 1/2 cup, no salt. Baked it in a 9x13 glass pan, 50-60 minutes. I have had this recipe for ages, just a bit different than what is posted...still I am sure all variations are good! I also added chopped walnuts to the top! Put the batter in first, then apples, then sugar cinnamon mix, then the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
By the time the middle was cooked, the apples on top had burned. In addition, since the apples went in as 2 layers, it was really 'cakey' with some apples thrown in. I have made recipes where the apples were folded into the batter, not in a layer in the middle and a layer on top, so I think I will stick with that. That being said, the cake part was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Wow, this is a great recipe. On others advice we coated the apples in the cinnamon mixture and the cake turned out great. We served it warm with vanilla icecream and there was no leftovers which is a rarity at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. it was dry, the flavor of the cake was bland - not at ALL the jewish apple cake i was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena Levine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Followed the directions and baked for 70 minutes and used 3 large Granny Smiths.. This cake was DRY and had no apple taste. I cannot give it as a gift. I am starting over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I substitute apple sauce for half the oil, mix the cinnamon/sugar with the apples and add a splash of brandy to the apples. I also mix the apples into the batter before pouring into the pan for more even consistency. Have also used apple juice when there was no OJ in the frige. Caramel Frosting 4 recipe from this site is really wonderful on top of this cake. Sprinkle with flaked sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States