Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
i agree with the reviews, i added 1/2c. to sugar and did 7-8 smaller sized macintosh apples. you should watch the time, mine was perfect at about 65min. i also added another 1/2tsp to vanilla. best jewish apple cake i ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
If you like a simple cake with tea or coffee, this will go well. If you want something a little sweeter (or more in depth) for a special occasion, you may want to put a glaze over the top, or try a more elaborate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I found this cake to be very dry! I baked it about 65 minutes at 350° and followed the recipe exact. I chose this apple cake recipe because of the rave reviews but ended up being disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
My Fred says "YUM!!" As suggested, I tossed the apple slices in the cinn./sugar first. I baked it in a fluted bundt pan and it took 60 mins. Didn't have OJ made, so I "borrowed" a juice box from the kids. Next time I will do three layers of batter so that my last apple layer won't be on the bottom of the cake, but layered beautifully inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
I can remember my Mom making this for us as kids. One of the best apple cake recipes you will ever find! Great served warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
THE FIRST TIME I MADE THIS CAKE,I WAS A LITTLE SURPRISED AT HOW THICK THE BATTER WAS SO I ADDED A LITTLE BIT MORE OJ AND OIL.AND,I HAD TO BAKE IT FOR THE FULL 90 MIN.I JUST MADE IT AGAIN AND DID THE SAME EXACT THING AND IT TURNED OUT JUST AS GREAT!I HAD A PROBLEM WITH MY OLD JEWISH APPLE CAKE RECIPES BECAUSE IT KEPT GIVING ME HEARTBURN...WHY....I DON'T KNOW BUT WITH THIS RECIPE I USED A FRESH ORANGE FOR THE JUICE AND THANK GOODNESS....NO HEARTBURN! I REALLY LOVE THIS CAKE,IT'S SO MOIST AND DELICIOUS.AND IT ALSO FREEZES REALLY WELL.I CUT IT INTO SERVING PORTIONS AND WRAP WELL AND PUT THE PIECES INTO A FREEZER BAG,THEN WHENEVER I WANT A PIECE FOR MY MORNING COFFEE,I TAKE A SLICE OUT AND IN THE MORNING I AM ENJOYING THIS WONDERFUL CAKE! THANKS EVER SO MUCH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
this cake is very "fallish", simple and delicious. it turned out very good, even if I made a mistake: I was in a hurry and misread, so instead of 5 teaspoon of sugar I put 5 tablespoons...well, don't know if I won't repeat the error on purpose from now on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
A lot of Jewish apple cakes come out dry but this cake is very moist and delicious. The only difference I made in the recipe was to follow my friends advice and mix the cinnamon/sugar with the apple slices instead of sprinkling the cinnamon and sugar over the apples. That gave the apples a delicious flavor in the cake. At 350 degrees it took 85 minutes to come out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
My family loved the cake, but next time I will add more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
I have made this cake 5 times now, and its been a winner every time. Can be made as dessert and served with cream. Turns out perfect each time, so no worries if you have to make it at the last minute.Looks attractive too. Made it for my mothers frieds, and they liked it so much that we literally had to grab the last few pieces to keep for my hubby,when he came home from work! Baking time may not be 70 mins...45-50mins are usually enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States