Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I JUST MADE THIS TODAY AFTER SPENDING YESTERDAY APPLE PICKING WITH THE KIDS. LOVE IT. VERY MOIST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
My fiancee and I loved this recipe..I added six apples and on the side I had vanilla bean ice cream.. mmm mmm good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I added the sugar and cinnamin to the apples and let them sit for an hour to set. I also used 1 more apple then the recipe called for. I used a blend of granny smith and jonathan. The cake came out great. It was a fun Rosh Hashana cake for my 5 year old son and I to make together. L'Shanah Tovah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA
Living In: Wrightwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I have made this cake hundreds of times over the last 35 years with the following changes: Use 4 to 5 large apples (preferably Rome apples - they are nice and firm, not too sweet, not too tart); use 1 tablespoon vanilla; be generous with the cinnamon/sugar mixture - at least 1/2 cup sugar and 2 to 3 tsp. cinnamon (I never really measure it, just dump it on there!); pour cinnamon/sugar mixture over apples then set aside; I always use a large tube pan coated with Baker's Joy for even baking; bake for at least 1 1/2 to 1 3/4 hours. When finishing putting batter and apples into pan, I drizzle the juice from the apples on top for a finishing touch. It also seems important in the way you mix the batter. First I start with beating the eggs and sugar together; combine the flour, salt and baking powder together; then add alternately the flour mixture and oil, then the orange juice, then lastly the vanilla. This cake comes out perfect every time! Always gets rave reviews and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
897 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was a great cake. As other reviewers suggested I made 1 1/2 times the batter and the cake baked perfectly to the top of the tube pan. I doubled the apples, mixed them in brown sugar and cinnamon and made two layers instead of one. I would use even more apples next time. I drizzled a powdered sugar glaze with almond extract over the top and down the sides. Made for a beautiful and delicious cake. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
My family has been making this recipe for years. I use more apples than this recipe calls for. It smells amazing and looks fantastic. A great cake for fall or winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This recipe is great. I add an extra half of ingredients to increase the batter so that I can have more layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Love this cake. I cheated and used 4 apples, instead of mixing apples in white sugar, I used brown, and instead of orange juice I used 1/4 cup of Rum! Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I been making this cake for years. For those out there that want it to be a little sweeter I suggest letting your apples sit on the counter for a few days, so they will rippen more. The sweeter the apple the better the taste. After that is done when your ready to bake insted of cutting the apples use a cheese grater and grate the apples add sugar and cinnamon and set aside untill your ready to use them. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was so easy and it turned out beautiful. My neighbors said my house smelled just like the holidays. Very nice and very moist. My first time making this cake. This is a keeper and I will be making it alot for holiday gifts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States