Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
this cake is very "fallish", simple and delicious. it turned out very good, even if I made a mistake: I was in a hurry and misread, so instead of 5 teaspoon of sugar I put 5 tablespoons...well, don't know if I won't repeat the error on purpose from now on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
High marks for this one! I made it lowfat by substituting apple sauce for the oil, and it still turned out well. I also substituted rum for the orange juice, as recommended by another reviewer, and I think that adds a nice touch. I would even increase the amount next time for a stronger flavor. Mine didn't need as long to bake -- only an hour. Also, be generous with the apple -- it bakes so nicely in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
A lot of Jewish apple cakes come out dry but this cake is very moist and delicious. The only difference I made in the recipe was to follow my friends advice and mix the cinnamon/sugar with the apple slices instead of sprinkling the cinnamon and sugar over the apples. That gave the apples a delicious flavor in the cake. At 350 degrees it took 85 minutes to come out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
Not too hard to make -the batter is thick and hard to "pour" evenly, but the finished cake is tasty, and the whole house smells wonderful as it is baking. I enjoyed left-overs for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
This cake is delicious. It has a very dense texture, like pound cake and the cinnamon sugar and apples compliment it very well. My family loved it. Mine was done in 75 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
This cake is my husband's new favorite. I keep getting requests for an encore from all who taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
I was sooo nervous about making this cake for a friend at work without trying it, but couldn't cut into it before the presentation. It turned out to be a big hit with my co-workers and requests for the recipe grew more and more. Thank You Janice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This cake was excellent. It has a great flavor, is very moist and relatively easy to make. I served it to company and they liked it so much she asked for the recipe. she made one for a birthday party and, like mine, there was nothing left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
THE FIRST TIME I MADE THIS CAKE,I WAS A LITTLE SURPRISED AT HOW THICK THE BATTER WAS SO I ADDED A LITTLE BIT MORE OJ AND OIL.AND,I HAD TO BAKE IT FOR THE FULL 90 MIN.I JUST MADE IT AGAIN AND DID THE SAME EXACT THING AND IT TURNED OUT JUST AS GREAT!I HAD A PROBLEM WITH MY OLD JEWISH APPLE CAKE RECIPES BECAUSE IT KEPT GIVING ME HEARTBURN...WHY....I DON'T KNOW BUT WITH THIS RECIPE I USED A FRESH ORANGE FOR THE JUICE AND THANK GOODNESS....NO HEARTBURN! I REALLY LOVE THIS CAKE,IT'S SO MOIST AND DELICIOUS.AND IT ALSO FREEZES REALLY WELL.I CUT IT INTO SERVING PORTIONS AND WRAP WELL AND PUT THE PIECES INTO A FREEZER BAG,THEN WHENEVER I WANT A PIECE FOR MY MORNING COFFEE,I TAKE A SLICE OUT AND IN THE MORNING I AM ENJOYING THIS WONDERFUL CAKE! THANKS EVER SO MUCH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
I can remember my Mom making this for us as kids. One of the best apple cake recipes you will ever find! Great served warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States