Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I have made this cake hundreds of times over the last 35 years with the following changes: Use 4 to 5 large apples (preferably Rome apples - they are nice and firm, not too sweet, not too tart); use 1 tablespoon vanilla; be generous with the cinnamon/sugar mixture - at least 1/2 cup sugar and 2 to 3 tsp. cinnamon (I never really measure it, just dump it on there!); pour cinnamon/sugar mixture over apples then set aside; I always use a large tube pan coated with Baker's Joy for even baking; bake for at least 1 1/2 to 1 3/4 hours. When finishing putting batter and apples into pan, I drizzle the juice from the apples on top for a finishing touch. It also seems important in the way you mix the batter. First I start with beating the eggs and sugar together; combine the flour, salt and baking powder together; then add alternately the flour mixture and oil, then the orange juice, then lastly the vanilla. This cake comes out perfect every time! Always gets rave reviews and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
872 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
A lot of Jewish apple cakes come out dry but this cake is very moist and delicious. The only difference I made in the recipe was to follow my friends advice and mix the cinnamon/sugar with the apple slices instead of sprinkling the cinnamon and sugar over the apples. That gave the apples a delicious flavor in the cake. At 350 degrees it took 85 minutes to come out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I have been making this recipe for MANY years. It is just about foolproof. Everyone loves it. I do a couple of things differently: I cut up the apples and sprinkle them with sugar and cinammon and let them sit. I use 3 layers of batter and 2 layers of apples (ending with the batter) and then pour the juice from the apple/sugar/cin mixture over the batter before putting the cake in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was a great cake. As other reviewers suggested I made 1 1/2 times the batter and the cake baked perfectly to the top of the tube pan. I doubled the apples, mixed them in brown sugar and cinnamon and made two layers instead of one. I would use even more apples next time. I drizzled a powdered sugar glaze with almond extract over the top and down the sides. Made for a beautiful and delicious cake. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
High marks for this one! I made it lowfat by substituting apple sauce for the oil, and it still turned out well. I also substituted rum for the orange juice, as recommended by another reviewer, and I think that adds a nice touch. I would even increase the amount next time for a stronger flavor. Mine didn't need as long to bake -- only an hour. Also, be generous with the apple -- it bakes so nicely in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I was very disappointed with this recipe - because I never got a chance to eat it. I printed it out and followed it to the letter. My husband set the timer for 70 minutes, but I thought it would be prudent to check it after 55. By that time it was burned. My oven's temperatures are consistent, so it is not an equipment malfunction. Unfortunately, I chose to try this recipe for Thanksgiving tomorrow, and now I have no cake to take to my mother-in-law's house. I would DEFINITELY recommend checking the cake after 45-50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Love this cake. I cheated and used 4 apples, instead of mixing apples in white sugar, I used brown, and instead of orange juice I used 1/4 cup of Rum! Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
I have made this cake 5 times now, and its been a winner every time. Can be made as dessert and served with cream. Turns out perfect each time, so no worries if you have to make it at the last minute.Looks attractive too. Made it for my mothers frieds, and they liked it so much that we literally had to grab the last few pieces to keep for my hubby,when he came home from work! Baking time may not be 70 mins...45-50mins are usually enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I used 6 small apples in the recipe and tossed them with the cinnamin and sugar after I cut them (so they would not brown). I layered the cake 2 times in a tube pan also. Cake came out GREAT. If you want something not too sweet, but full of fruit this is the cake for you. Cake matures in flavor in 1-2 days and is divine with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
My family loved the cake, but next time I will add more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States