Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
This was such a great cake to make. It is easy if you have an apple corer slicer device. It bakes really nice and the crust is super tasty. I've made this 3 times and have had great raves about it. It tastes much like an apple coffee cake. Its definately my new favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2000
This was so good & pretty easy to do - it is a very dense cake (read heavy) but very moist. Only draw back - it took a very long time to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
Not too hard to make -the batter is thick and hard to "pour" evenly, but the finished cake is tasty, and the whole house smells wonderful as it is baking. I enjoyed left-overs for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
This cake is delicious. It has a very dense texture, like pound cake and the cinnamon sugar and apples compliment it very well. My family loved it. Mine was done in 75 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
This cake is my husband's new favorite. I keep getting requests for an encore from all who taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
I was sooo nervous about making this cake for a friend at work without trying it, but couldn't cut into it before the presentation. It turned out to be a big hit with my co-workers and requests for the recipe grew more and more. Thank You Janice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This cake was excellent. It has a great flavor, is very moist and relatively easy to make. I served it to company and they liked it so much she asked for the recipe. she made one for a birthday party and, like mine, there was nothing left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
This was my first attempt at a cake that didn't come from a box. It was really good. My family didn't even wait for it to cool down. It was easy to make. It took a long time to cook, but I must say it was worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
High marks for this one! I made it lowfat by substituting apple sauce for the oil, and it still turned out well. I also substituted rum for the orange juice, as recommended by another reviewer, and I think that adds a nice touch. I would even increase the amount next time for a stronger flavor. Mine didn't need as long to bake -- only an hour. Also, be generous with the apple -- it bakes so nicely in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I was very disappointed with this recipe - because I never got a chance to eat it. I printed it out and followed it to the letter. My husband set the timer for 70 minutes, but I thought it would be prudent to check it after 55. By that time it was burned. My oven's temperatures are consistent, so it is not an equipment malfunction. Unfortunately, I chose to try this recipe for Thanksgiving tomorrow, and now I have no cake to take to my mother-in-law's house. I would DEFINITELY recommend checking the cake after 45-50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States