Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Just delicious! An aunt of mine used to bake this cake, she gave my mother the recipe a while ago but it never came out right. Still I remembered it was a great cake and wanted to try again. Today I tried this recipe and it came out excellent! I added the zest of one orange because I love its taste in cakes. It overpowers the apple a little, but to me it's still great. Ah, and I'll use 4 or 5 apples the next time, which will be very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
As I had to go to a Shiva and as is the custom to bring a dish, I thought I would try my hand at this Jewish Apple Cake. It turned out fabulous! My thanks to JBS Box for a wonderfully simple cake. This cake turned out so well, that I will be adding it to my list of Christmas desserts! Thank you again for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I used lemon juice, cut the sugar to 1 1/2 c and increased the vanilla to 1 tbsp. I found mine was done in about an hour in a 9" square tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Awesome! So moist. I used 4 cups of apples and replaced half the oil with butter. I probably added a little more orange juice than the recipe called for too. Baking time was about 70 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This cake was a huge hit. The only difficult thing was spreading the very stiff dough in the tube pan. I used a little bit too much dough for the bottom half so had to really work to get the apples covered by the top half. This cake tasted so much like pound cake but was easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Delicious, moist, tasty! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This cake was overall very good. I think it was missing a little something so I added a honey drizzle to it since I made it for Rosh Hashana. I did mix the apples with the cinn/sugar mix beforehand so the apples had a really good flavor in the cake. I also sprinkled the top of the cake with a little more cinn/sugar for some added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Great cake!!! Was easy to make and looks great too. Moist and great taste. Followed some of the other reviews and mixed cinnamon and sugar with apples first. Will make often. Thanks for the great recipe!!!New fall favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I made this recipie last night for Rosh Hashana dinner and it was a hit. This was the first itme I've made apple cake and it was dense, but very moist and with great flavor. I struggled with cook time after reading the recipie and other reviews here. I cooked the cake for 80 minutes and the bottom got a bit burned. Next time I will cook it less, but I am adding this to my arsenal of desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Super easy recipe! It comes out soooo moist and delicious. I make this cake every year for Rosh Hashana and it is always a big hit!!! I usually drizzle the top with a white glaze made from powdered sugar and parve soy milk. BEWARE OF BAKING TIME - I baked mine for 60 MINUTES - THAT'S IT. - Otherwise it might start burning....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States