Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
My 1st attempt at preparing this cake is Murphy's Law. You will appreciate my effort: I have never run out of flour but today I had 2-1/2 Cups & the receipe calls for 3. Of all days not to have a car I walked to the nearby store bought a bag of flour came home; started paring my 6 apples - needless to say 2 are bad on the inside; got the orange juice out & it had gone sour!!!! Do you think this was an omen not to make this cake? I substituted rum for the OJ (I read that on another review). But at the end of all my dismay the cake was delicious, my husband & friends enjoyed it & I will try again & be assured that all ingredients will be at hand!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Baking time is definitly off. I put it in for 70 and it was burnt. A huge dissapointment because flavor and texture were there, a great recipe but I would watch the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
The flavor was very good. I used the suggestions of mixing extra sugar and cinnamon with the apples. In my case I don't know what I did but this cake was moist, unlike a heavy Jewish Apple cake. Kjell Stava stated the cake was heavy, heavy is what I'm looking for. What did I do to make this cake "too moist". But it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Great taste, but pretty heavy cake. It's very important to use the right pan, I tried it with a springform pan and the middle was a little gooey while the edges were well done. Will try again with the tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I only had 2 apples on hand, so more would definitely have been better. It was still delicious enough to win the prize for me of "Best Jewish Dish" at our final meeting before visiting Israel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinderelly007

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I have been making this cake for 33 years!!! and I'm 43. I use Macintosh apples. 4-5 depending on size. I also set the apples aside with the cinnamon/sugar mixture. Then make the batter. I am going to try one reviewers idea of 3 layers of batter and 2 of apples... as I've never really liked the apples on top...thanks. I also pour the juice of the apples into my batter before layering cake. It's important to note that this cake is great for freezing. After cooling, wrap and freeze for future use:) Around the holidays I make the cake into 2 loaf pans instead of the round bundt. Then I have 2 gifts out of one cake :) I love this cake. It's great with tea or coffee in the morning. I've brought it into work with rave reviews...only problem is everyone that tries it wants it MORE so print recipes wherever you bring it or you'll be baking it often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMICHELEY
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I liked this recipe. It was very easy to make, but took a really long time to bake. I was scared I was going to burn it. It didn't though even after 2 hours of baking in my bundt cake pan. It is a very heavy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
My family always made good Jewish Apple Cakes growing up. This recipe is even better. I add 1/2 cup applesauce and sprinkle sugar inside the greased pan too. Only need to bake 45 minutes and it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I've made this cake, successfully, many times, but each time I've made a few changes. Today, to begin, I increased all the ingredients by 50% to accomodate a large tube pan. Instead of just vanilla extract, I used one teaspoon each of vanilla, almond, and lemon extract. I used five apples, two Granny Smith, two Fuji and one Braeburn, because they're what I had in the fridge. To insure a very moist cake, instead of oil, I used melted butter flavored vegetable shortening. I thoroughly mixed the eggs into the melted shortening and orange juice with a wire whip, when the melted shortening was just slightly warm to the touch. When I mixed the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, it became very obvious that more liquid was needed. I added additional juice as I mixed, until I had a very thick batter; too thick to pour, but perfect for spooning into the tube pan. I tossed the apples in sugar that had been spiced with cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg. Baking at 350 degrees, my bake time was 76 minutes. At 60 minutes, the cake's top had reached a perfect color, but it was clear the cake needed more oven time. I slipped the cake out of the oven at the 60 minute mark and covered the top with foil. The cake looks and tastes terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I have been trying to find a Jewish Apple Cake recipe I could replicate and this is it! I used 4 Granny Smith apples, but next time would use 5-6. I also found that the top layer of apples got a little burnt so next time I'll do 2 apple layers with 3 cake/dough layers, finishing w/the dough layer. Like most other reviewers, I tossed the apples in the cinnamon & sugar mixture. I'll try brown sugar next time and perhaps using some applesauce instead of so much oil. My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States