Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I cooked it for about 70 minutes, and the bottom was slightly burnt, but still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
very excellent , very moist even on the 5th day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosana Shrader

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellmawr, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I used brown sugar instead of white sugar (didnt have any). I also used apple juice instead of orange (didnt have any) and to that I added the juice of one lemon and a swig of beer (I was drinking it and thought it might be good). I also added lemon to the apples mixed with nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves and sugar. I mixed the dry ingredients (except for the sugar which I mixed in with the eggs, oil and vanilla) separately from the wet and then added them to the mixing bowl cup by cup, alternating between the wet and dry ingredients. The batter looked like velvet and left ribbons across the top! I also put the sugar covered apples in the bottom of the bunt pan and mixed the juice from the apple/spice mixture into the batter before pouring the batter on top of the apples. The apples caramelized and each bite just melts in the mouth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Came out perfect and YUMMY! Didn't alter a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Super easy to make and tasted delicious. Coated the apples in the brown sugar as directed by other reviewers. Cake came out beautifully from the pan. My cake cooked in under 60 mins - about 55 mins. Watch your cooking time the first time you make it. Would definitely recommend as a recipe and will definitely make again, many times. Note: batter is very thick. It's not a mistake in the measurements!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
of course you can customize this recipe but thats what makes it gret it is fool proof for the even the novice . It is also great as is only mod i would care to offer if dice your apples so you can fit more in this recipe can take it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
As some of the other reviewers mentioned my cake cooked a bit faster than the instructions indicated. It wasn't ruined, but it was pretty dry and browned on the bottom. We served it with ice cream to make it palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
My Son made this wonderful recipe. It was the best Apple dessert cake I've tasted! I did put an orange juice glaze on the cake but the cake was delicious before the glaze was added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
It turned out great! Delicious and moist! I did what others suggested: mixed apples with sugar and cinnamon. I also created 3 layers of apples. People mentioned that it was "just like from the good bakery" :) I baked it for 75 min on 350F - didn't burn, was ust perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
awesome i just added 1 more apple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States