Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is an awesome cake. My version is very simple - flour, sugar, eggs, oj, oil and baking powder....mix til smooth - then layer in the pan with apples, butter and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This cake is very moist and tasty. It took mine 60-65 min. in a bundt pan. Greased and floured, nothing stuck. Keep checking doneness with a butter knife not with toothpick because it's too deep to reach bottom. I used brown sugar for the 5tsp to mix with cinn to replace the white sugar. I also used an extra apple. It would not be enough with three unless they are huge. This type of dense (pound cake) type is better served the day after baking. But is still tastes good the same day just not the same texture. Very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I have use this exact recipe several times. It always comes out wonderfully. This is always a hit with my family & co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Sooo delicious and my kitchen smelled amazing. I took the advice of the other posts and used more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I've made this several times, and it always turns out great and everyone is always asking for the recipe. It's really easy to make, and I'm not an experienced baker. The only problem I've ever had is that one of the first times I made it, the cake stuck in the pan and broke while taking it out. Since then, I've always greased the pan with a mixture of equal parts flour, shortening, and vegetable oil, and the cake literally falls out of the pan every time. I also use this to grease the pan for other types of baking with great results. I usually glaze the finished cake with a mixture of icing sugar, milk, and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I used a Bundt cake pan and baked it for 60 minutes. Cake was very moist but a little too sweet for my taste. Next time I will add more apples and dust them with a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I've experimented with the recipe quite a few times. No matter what, it's always turned out great! I've found that the more you beat it the cakier and denser it becomes. If you're looking for an eggy, light dessert, mix it by hand and don't worry about little lumps. Also, if you want the apples to be softer, cook them with cinnamon, sugar and a splash of rum before hand over the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
YUM! I made some changes per suggestions from others. I mixed the apple slices with cinnamon and sugar (let it sit for 5 mins or so) prior to layering. I didn't measure out the cinnamon and sugar, I just went by how it looked and tasted. I also used rum instead of orange juice. This was absolutely delicious. Tasted best the next day or two. But it tasted great the first day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I think the next time I make it, I'll cut the apples into large chunks. I'll also try it with the cake being the last layer. All the apples seemed to sink to the bottom (the top when you take it out of the pan). Other than that, I would not change the recipe. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haddonfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was delicious and easy! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States