Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Baked the Jewish Apple Cake last night, a slice of vanilla ice cream..yum! The whole house smelled like apples and cinnamon! For Apple Cake: Used 6 medium apples, 1/2 c for the 5 t sugar, OJ 1/2 cup, no salt. Baked it in a 9x13 glass pan, 50-60 minutes. I have had this recipe for ages, just a bit different than what is posted...still I am sure all variations are good! I also added chopped walnuts to the top! Put the batter in first, then apples, then sugar cinnamon mix, then the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
By the time the middle was cooked, the apples on top had burned. In addition, since the apples went in as 2 layers, it was really 'cakey' with some apples thrown in. I have made recipes where the apples were folded into the batter, not in a layer in the middle and a layer on top, so I think I will stick with that. That being said, the cake part was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Wow, this is a great recipe. On others advice we coated the apples in the cinnamon mixture and the cake turned out great. We served it warm with vanilla icecream and there was no leftovers which is a rarity at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. it was dry, the flavor of the cake was bland - not at ALL the jewish apple cake i was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena Levine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Followed the directions and baked for 70 minutes and used 3 large Granny Smiths.. This cake was DRY and had no apple taste. I cannot give it as a gift. I am starting over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I substitute apple sauce for half the oil, mix the cinnamon/sugar with the apples and add a splash of brandy to the apples. I also mix the apples into the batter before pouring into the pan for more even consistency. Have also used apple juice when there was no OJ in the frige. Caramel Frosting 4 recipe from this site is really wonderful on top of this cake. Sprinkle with flaked sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this for a Holiday Luncheon. It was a HUGE success. However, I did tweak it a bit. Instead of using 3 cups all purpose flour, I used 1.5 cups of all purpose flour and 1.5 cup of whole wheat flour. I also used 1 cup sugar and 1 cup of Splenda. I combined the cinnamon with 5 tbsp (yes Tablespoons) of Splenda Brown sugar blend and mixed it thru the sliced apples (I used 5 apples), setting them aside while I mixed the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is my absolute favorite cake. I always have to add more time. Usually 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
The cake was definitely delicious, but tasted a bit plain. Were I making it a second time, I would add some powdered sugar frosting on the top, or something to give it an extra kick. Also, I cooked for about 80 minutes, and think that it would have benefited from about 10 minutes less cooking time to make the cake more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This cake looked really good for Rosh Hashanah and the reviews seemed positive. I used the suggestion of applesauce for oil and Rum for OJ and I also used Splenda for sugar, however my cake came out very dense and the cake part wasnt flavorful at all. I would add 50% more batter too, because double is too much for the pan but as is is too little to coat the apples. The apples were tasty, but then again its hard to screw up cid/sugar apples in the oven unless you burn it. I also baked it for just 50 minutes. It was so much work that I probably wont attempt a re-do. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States