Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this for a Holiday Luncheon. It was a HUGE success. However, I did tweak it a bit. Instead of using 3 cups all purpose flour, I used 1.5 cups of all purpose flour and 1.5 cup of whole wheat flour. I also used 1 cup sugar and 1 cup of Splenda. I combined the cinnamon with 5 tbsp (yes Tablespoons) of Splenda Brown sugar blend and mixed it thru the sliced apples (I used 5 apples), setting them aside while I mixed the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is my absolute favorite cake. I always have to add more time. Usually 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
The cake was definitely delicious, but tasted a bit plain. Were I making it a second time, I would add some powdered sugar frosting on the top, or something to give it an extra kick. Also, I cooked for about 80 minutes, and think that it would have benefited from about 10 minutes less cooking time to make the cake more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This cake looked really good for Rosh Hashanah and the reviews seemed positive. I used the suggestion of applesauce for oil and Rum for OJ and I also used Splenda for sugar, however my cake came out very dense and the cake part wasnt flavorful at all. I would add 50% more batter too, because double is too much for the pan but as is is too little to coat the apples. The apples were tasty, but then again its hard to screw up cid/sugar apples in the oven unless you burn it. I also baked it for just 50 minutes. It was so much work that I probably wont attempt a re-do. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is an awesome cake. My version is very simple - flour, sugar, eggs, oj, oil and baking powder....mix til smooth - then layer in the pan with apples, butter and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This cake is very moist and tasty. It took mine 60-65 min. in a bundt pan. Greased and floured, nothing stuck. Keep checking doneness with a butter knife not with toothpick because it's too deep to reach bottom. I used brown sugar for the 5tsp to mix with cinn to replace the white sugar. I also used an extra apple. It would not be enough with three unless they are huge. This type of dense (pound cake) type is better served the day after baking. But is still tastes good the same day just not the same texture. Very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I have use this exact recipe several times. It always comes out wonderfully. This is always a hit with my family & co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Sooo delicious and my kitchen smelled amazing. I took the advice of the other posts and used more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I've made this several times, and it always turns out great and everyone is always asking for the recipe. It's really easy to make, and I'm not an experienced baker. The only problem I've ever had is that one of the first times I made it, the cake stuck in the pan and broke while taking it out. Since then, I've always greased the pan with a mixture of equal parts flour, shortening, and vegetable oil, and the cake literally falls out of the pan every time. I also use this to grease the pan for other types of baking with great results. I usually glaze the finished cake with a mixture of icing sugar, milk, and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I used a Bundt cake pan and baked it for 60 minutes. Cake was very moist but a little too sweet for my taste. Next time I will add more apples and dust them with a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States