Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe has been in my family for 3 generations. Insanely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I'm begged to bring this to parties. It's incredible. I've tweaked it in the following ways: I substitute natural applesauce for oil (super healthy), I sometimes omit the orange juice (not always necessary), I use one cup brown and one cup white sugar, and I let the apples soak in the sugar and cinnamon mixture before using them--wow!! I've also given out the recipe a number of times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chilemaven
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. Cake is moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Not sure how I'm the ONLY person who couldn't get this right but I didn't. Followed the instructions and after 90 minutes the cake still was done on the inside?!?! Please tell me others had this problem?!? So disappointed as I wanted to share in Rosh Hashanah with my coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I made double portion. Used much less sugar. i used 2.5 cup not firmed brown sugar. Used less flour, half of which white whole wheat. Added a tiny bit of soda. I got 4 small round cakes 9'. Going to freeze...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I liked this cake very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This cake was really good. I would have added one or two more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I gave it one star because there were no minus stars. I followed this recipe to the letter and the dough was like greasy bread dough, it said pour into the mold...but this you had to lay out it was so stiff. It didn't even rise, the apples were overdone sticky, and the cake is so heavy it could be used as a weapon. Worst recipe I have ever followed. I should have stayed with my own recipe instead of trying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Follow the recipe exactly and adjust your oven if necessary. I make this exact same recipe for my cafe and people rave over it - and keep coming back and ordering several at a time. In my oven at work - 77 minutes. At home, 60 minutes. Know your ovens, folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia I.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This was my first bundt cake and I must say I am quite pleased with it. The texture is awesome - crispy on the outside and moist and tender inside. I would not recommend making 1 1/2 times the batter as some have suggested. The volume of the cake is just right as is - it bakes into a perfect ring shape. I guess if you wanted more of a volcano shape, you could use more batter, although I'd be afraid it would overflow as it baked. My personal tweaks were as follows: I diced my apples (12 oz. - about 3 medium) and tossed them with 1 tablespoon cinnamon and 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of using the 2 tsp. cinnamon and 5 tsp. white sugar, then folded them into the batter. Having no orange juice, after wracking my brain I decided to use Triple Sec instead (1/2 cup), which seemed to do nicely. I also increased the vanilla to 1 tablespoon and added 1 tsp. nutmeg for extra flavor. Finally, I topped the cake with a simple caramel glaze (1/4 brown sugar + 1/4 cup butter + 1 tsp. milk), which was awesome. The only thing I'd do differently next time is increase the amount of apples (probably a full 16 oz.) and this cake would be truly perfect. BTW, mine baked in only 65 minutes, so keep a close eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States