Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
I have made this cake 5 times now, and its been a winner every time. Can be made as dessert and served with cream. Turns out perfect each time, so no worries if you have to make it at the last minute.Looks attractive too. Made it for my mothers frieds, and they liked it so much that we literally had to grab the last few pieces to keep for my hubby,when he came home from work! Baking time may not be 70 mins...45-50mins are usually enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I was very disappointed with this recipe - because I never got a chance to eat it. I printed it out and followed it to the letter. My husband set the timer for 70 minutes, but I thought it would be prudent to check it after 55. By that time it was burned. My oven's temperatures are consistent, so it is not an equipment malfunction. Unfortunately, I chose to try this recipe for Thanksgiving tomorrow, and now I have no cake to take to my mother-in-law's house. I would DEFINITELY recommend checking the cake after 45-50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
High marks for this one! I made it lowfat by substituting apple sauce for the oil, and it still turned out well. I also substituted rum for the orange juice, as recommended by another reviewer, and I think that adds a nice touch. I would even increase the amount next time for a stronger flavor. Mine didn't need as long to bake -- only an hour. Also, be generous with the apple -- it bakes so nicely in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
This was my first attempt at a cake that didn't come from a box. It was really good. My family didn't even wait for it to cool down. It was easy to make. It took a long time to cook, but I must say it was worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This cake was excellent. It has a great flavor, is very moist and relatively easy to make. I served it to company and they liked it so much she asked for the recipe. she made one for a birthday party and, like mine, there was nothing left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
I was sooo nervous about making this cake for a friend at work without trying it, but couldn't cut into it before the presentation. It turned out to be a big hit with my co-workers and requests for the recipe grew more and more. Thank You Janice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
This cake is my husband's new favorite. I keep getting requests for an encore from all who taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
This cake is delicious. It has a very dense texture, like pound cake and the cinnamon sugar and apples compliment it very well. My family loved it. Mine was done in 75 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
Not too hard to make -the batter is thick and hard to "pour" evenly, but the finished cake is tasty, and the whole house smells wonderful as it is baking. I enjoyed left-overs for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2000
This was so good & pretty easy to do - it is a very dense cake (read heavy) but very moist. Only draw back - it took a very long time to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States