Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
My daddy has been making this recipes for years. He is 84 yrs young and lives 1500 miles from me. He makes this cake and every time even if youy are making the same recipe with him in the same kitchen, I don't know what he does but his cake is almost always two or three inches above the pan and delicous. Thank You so much for givin me the recipe just like my daddy's. Thank Ya, Bonnie Jo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dorchester, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I've made a cake very, very similar to this for years and I've discovered that the apple taste is better with 4 Granny Smith apples, sliced about 1/4" thick. I've sliced them before with my Pampered Chef apple corer/slicer thingy and couldn't taste the apples, so it's better if the apples are sliced thicker, but not too thick. I usually add 1/2 tsp of fresh orange zest to the batter, too, just to take it up a notch, and next time will mix my apple slices with the cinnamon-sugar mixture instead of sprinkling it over the apples. People love this cake, and it smells SO good while it's baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Fantastic recipe. I use the same base ingredients but with cherries. I buy the frozen ones, dry them well and roll them in the sugar and cinnamon. Excellent cherry cake like my Grandmother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
The recipe was very good - although I had to replace the white flour with whole wheat and white sugar with brown sugar and the vegetable oil with butter -(because that's all I had in the pantry) the turn out was great! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
i tried this recipe today and the outcome was a great cake for everyday, next to my morning coffee or evening tea. i did make a few changes-i used only 1.5 cups suger,3/4 cup oil and 1 cup of whole flour+2cups of all purpose flour.enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I JUST MADE THIS TODAY AFTER SPENDING YESTERDAY APPLE PICKING WITH THE KIDS. LOVE IT. VERY MOIST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
My fiancee and I loved this recipe..I added six apples and on the side I had vanilla bean ice cream.. mmm mmm good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I added the sugar and cinnamin to the apples and let them sit for an hour to set. I also used 1 more apple then the recipe called for. I used a blend of granny smith and jonathan. The cake came out great. It was a fun Rosh Hashana cake for my 5 year old son and I to make together. L'Shanah Tovah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA
Living In: Wrightwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I have made this cake hundreds of times over the last 35 years with the following changes: Use 4 to 5 large apples (preferably Rome apples - they are nice and firm, not too sweet, not too tart); use 1 tablespoon vanilla; be generous with the cinnamon/sugar mixture - at least 1/2 cup sugar and 2 to 3 tsp. cinnamon (I never really measure it, just dump it on there!); pour cinnamon/sugar mixture over apples then set aside; I always use a large tube pan coated with Baker's Joy for even baking; bake for at least 1 1/2 to 1 3/4 hours. When finishing putting batter and apples into pan, I drizzle the juice from the apples on top for a finishing touch. It also seems important in the way you mix the batter. First I start with beating the eggs and sugar together; combine the flour, salt and baking powder together; then add alternately the flour mixture and oil, then the orange juice, then lastly the vanilla. This cake comes out perfect every time! Always gets rave reviews and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
877 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was a great cake. As other reviewers suggested I made 1 1/2 times the batter and the cake baked perfectly to the top of the tube pan. I doubled the apples, mixed them in brown sugar and cinnamon and made two layers instead of one. I would use even more apples next time. I drizzled a powdered sugar glaze with almond extract over the top and down the sides. Made for a beautiful and delicious cake. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States