Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Classic recipe that came together easily. I used approximately 4-5 cups of apples and rolled them in Vietnamese Cinnamon for a stronger and more pungent flavor. I topped with a maple glaze of powdered sugar, maple extract and enough milk to have that drizzle consistency. We also grilled slices and served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Awesome recipe. I made it as written only adding in a small amount of Apple Pie Spice. Very moist and very good :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Excellent, moist cake. I will definitely make it again. If I were using a pan where I was going to flip the cake at the end, I would start with apples. I liked having them on top. I used 9 very small Gala apples and followed Janyce's recommendations. (Apples mixed in unmeasured sugar and cinnamon, add juice from apples, more apples, 3 layers of each, 1 tbsp vanilla, order of ingredients.) The batter is very thick and delicious. Cake was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I made this cake (for company no less) following the original directions. Everyone loved it! I might try dividing the batter into 3rds the next time but I think it is great as is. The aroma while baking is amazing. I drizzled brown sugar frosting over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Used 1/2 cup sugar and 3 tsps of cinnamon like suggested by Janyce. I also mixed the cinnamon sugar mixture in the apples. Turned out perfectly! Whole house smelled amazing also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tbkeith

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet_treats
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Delicious recipe, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_treats

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
The whole family just loved this cake. I just made as per the recipe No tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I made this for an event at church last week and had some batter and filling left over so I decided to use it to make a few muffins. They were awesome! My husband loved them so much I had to make another batch just so I could make more muffins! I made the recipe as stated except I followed the suggestions of sprinkling the sugar and cinnamon on the apples and letting them sit about ten minutes before I used them. I also reserved about 2 to 3 tsp cinnamon sugar mixture and added it to the batter so the whole cake (and muffins!) would have a cinnamon sugar flavor to it. I filled the muffin cups up about a quarter way with batter, put the apple filling in, then topped it with more batter to fill them up to about 3/4 the way and then baked them about 20-25 min. They came out so moist and had a wonderful apple cinnamon taste. I loved the apple filling in the middle of the muffins!I'm definitely going to save this recipe and make more muffins in the future! Its a 5 star recipe and my husband agrees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Fabulous. Just sweet enough. difficult to stop eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe has been in my family for 3 generations. Insanely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States