Jewel's Watermelon Margaritas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
my friends went crazy over this wonderful drink. i tested it the nite before and found it to be too 'bitter' for me, so the next day i added more watermelon and cut the tequila and lime juice by about 1/3 each. i guess i'm really not much of a margarita drinker, but everyone really loved this. thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
OMG!!! These were SOOOOO good! I HATE watermelon, but am a HUGE margarita fanatic lol. My husband is willing to try just about anything, even if it means trying something he knowingly doesn't like just to appease me. I appreciate this approach, and have come to like a LOT of things I thought I didn't (or wouldn't) like otherwise because of him. Through this process, I've learned that it's not about the food itself, but rather how it's prepared. I say all of that to say this.... While you won't find me noshing on a slice of watermelon, I was pleasantly surprised how much I liked the use of it in this. It's truly amazing how being the slightest bit open minded can expand one's palate. :) Although nearly perfect as is, I stand behind the other reviews that suggest skipping the ice. It's 100% unnecessary. Simply freeze your cubed watermelon beforehand, then add it (with everything else) to your blender, give it a good whirl and voila - perfectly slushy, super yummy margaritas (who knew?). Play around with this. Add a touch of orange liquor, fresh squeezed orange juice or mint leaves to your margaritas. I added a generous squirt of fresh orange juice and a sprig of mint to mine. I'm REALLY glad I doubled the syrup mixture (it keeps well in the fridge, btw) so that I can make yet ANOTHER batch of margaritas with my leftover watermelon! Thanks SO much for sharing your delicious recipe, RainbowJewels! I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED these! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
DELICIOUS!!! Thanks to other's suggetions, I froze the watermelon and used no ice (great idea!). Also added Triple Sec. My guests and I all thought it was the best margaritas we have ever had! My new favorite summer drink! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Awesome, Awesome!!! This drink is top-notch. It reminds me of a drink I had on a recent family cruise vacation. Yummy. For a quicker version of this just blend the watermelon and sugar with pre-made margarita mix that you find in most grocery stores. We also made non-alcoholic versions for the kids and they loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I loved this! Granted, I was that annoying person who did tweak just a bit...I did as others suggested, omitting the ice and freezing the watermelon. I also drastically cut back on the simple syrup (I made the amt called for, but only used about 1/4 c...didn't want to ingest all that sugar in a couple of drinks. Granted, my friend opted to stir more simple syrup into her drink as it was quite a bit more potent, but it suited me fine : ) I sliced more watermelon as we were sipping away, popped it into the freezer so I'll have it ready when the craving kicks in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I have to be honest when I first saw this I thought - Why would you mess up a good margarita with watermelon.... and I LOVE watermelon. But then I accidently froze chopped up watermelon that I was trying to cool quickly. So I thought of this recipe. Made it yesterday while sitting by the pool. I did not have Orange Zest so I threw in some Orange Luquire (sp) I had already made a previous picture of Blue Maragaritas - and thought why not use this for the orange flavoring. They were GREAT; and so cool and refreshing. YUMMY - Great summer Maragarita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These were very refreshing and very tasty! I made the simple syrup and put in the freezer for about 10 minutes. I then put a few ice cubes in there to help cool faster. Put everything including the frozen watermelon in the blender and blended. I was really cold so I did not have to add ice to the blender. Served over crushed ice. TIP you can't blend frozen watermelon without some kind of a liquid. Just throw everything in there at once and there you have it... no need to dirty a pitcher and the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I think this will be amazing when the watermelons get ripe! I believe my melon was a little lacking, and I'm not going to make the submitter suffer for the sake of my watermelon! Once you have a really red, ripe, sweet melon, you may want to adjust the simple syrup to your liking, but for my under-ripe one, it needed the sugar. Novel idea, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Amazing and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chenalinda
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Fantastic summery cool refreshing drinks...I made them...which usually my husband makes the drinks. They were perfect. Certainly will be making these all summer long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make the Best Margaritas

See how easy it is to make a classic margarita.

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States