Jesse and Steve's Fresh Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
My experience with this cake does not reflect the submitter’s description. (I did not make the frosting) It was not “light.” It was rather tough with an odd texture, more like a muffin than that of a cake – but not exactly like a muffin either. It was neither “sweet-tart” nor “berry-infused.” In fact, uninformed partakers would have difficulty identifying it as a strawberry cake were it not for the 1-1/2 tsp. of pure strawberry extract I added to the batter. And it was just barely sweet, again, more suitable as a muffin (quite suitable actually) than a dessert. It also had a brownish color, not necessarily what I’d expect for a strawberry cake. (Dare I say it again, that it was more like that of a muffin?) Still, it was pleasant enough. Mild flavor, mildly sweet, but greatly improved and enhanced prepared like strawberry shortcake – with sweetened fresh strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This is terrific cake. The fresh strawberry flavor was just what I was searching for. I made a buttercream frosting with lemon juice and some leftover smashed strawberries that was just perfect on top! I can't tell you the amounts on that because I just threw it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Very good, real Strawberry cake recipe. Not sure about the preparation instructions, I used traditional method and cake came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I've had to start pureeing & freezing strawberries so that I can make this cake in the dead of winter whenever my family needs a little bit of summer in our lives. It's so fresh & delicious. I always make a double batch of the icing, though ... yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Have been making this for years and just realized that I had never rated it. What a fantastic cake! Everyone who tries it, absolutely loves it. Usually use frozen strawberries instead of fresh, bake the full recipe in a smaller pan, but it still works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teejaymacd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
The cake by itself was very sweet, with frosting on top it was too sweet. I think this recipe would make wonderful muffins, but not a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made a double batch (I had a LOT of strawberries that needed to be used up!) I used half brown sugar and half white sugar, and I added some red (pink) food coloring to the batter to brighten it up a bit. areas with the strawberries were a little too mushy (I did mash them, but I guess not good enough), where the rest of the cake seemed a tad on the dense side. Next time, I would probably use processor to destroy the strawberries, and add another half tsp of the baking soda, just to make it extra fluffy. Maybe use cake flour instead of AP. Great Recipe! Great taste and I would try it again. It's definitely one of the best simple recipes out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Fantastic cake that is going into my cookbook. I didn't even frost it. I topped ours with whipped cream and a strawberry/blueberry compote with lemon juice. When that ran out we ate the cake by itself. I think it would be delicious in a trifle with a layer of meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe! I really wanted a strawberry cake, but I'm vegetarian, and most of the recipes I saw called for gelatin. I was so happy when I found this! I used more like 1.5c strawberries and plain yogurt instead of sour cream, just because that's what I had on hand. Came out delicious, with an excellent consistency. I teach cake decorating, and every one of my students and coworkers who tried it asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Made this last night and it was so good! Going to make it again tonight so I can bring a cake in to work tomorrow just for fun. I followed the recipe except I used regular sugar cause that was what I had and two cups of diced strawberries. I also used a cream cheese frosting instead. My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States