Jesse and Steve's Fresh Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Fantastic cake that is going into my cookbook. I didn't even frost it. I topped ours with whipped cream and a strawberry/blueberry compote with lemon juice. When that ran out we ate the cake by itself. I think it would be delicious in a trifle with a layer of meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe! I really wanted a strawberry cake, but I'm vegetarian, and most of the recipes I saw called for gelatin. I was so happy when I found this! I used more like 1.5c strawberries and plain yogurt instead of sour cream, just because that's what I had on hand. Came out delicious, with an excellent consistency. I teach cake decorating, and every one of my students and coworkers who tried it asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Made this last night and it was so good! Going to make it again tonight so I can bring a cake in to work tomorrow just for fun. I followed the recipe except I used regular sugar cause that was what I had and two cups of diced strawberries. I also used a cream cheese frosting instead. My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made a large layer cake with this recipe. I doubled it. I spent hours scouring the internet for the best strawberry cake and settled on this one. Made it exactly like the recipe. Dense, dry, bready, and not very sweet or strawberry like. I have made other natural scratch strawberry cakes, and this was not one of the better ones, in my opinion. It would be tasty warmed up with lots of frosting. If I made it again I would use oil instead of butter because it creates a moister crumb, and add about 1/2 cup buttermilk for moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Delicious cake! I made this for my Dad's 60th birthday and it was a hit! I used the raw sugar but I was concerned the stuff I had was too coarse so I put it in my food processor to make it finer. I also pureed the strawberries instead of mashing them. My Mom said it was one of the best cakes she's ever had, and she always cooks from scratch. Definitely recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megan
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was my first ever made from scratch cake and I have to admit I was skeptical. I made a few changes like the others mentioned. Instead of sour cream I used strawberry yogurt (yoplait one reg size container) I added a tsp of baking powder and 1 tablespoon of strawberry extract. Other than those few items I kept the recipe as is. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This cake was wonderful -- more like strawberry bread (along the lines of banana bread when I made it). I added a different icing -- 1/2 C butter, 1/2 C pureed strawberries, 2 tbsp frozen lemonade concentrate and ~4 cups of powdered sugar. The icing sweetened it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I don't know why I waited so long to make this cake - it's delicious! I think my pan was larger than 13x9 because the cake was rather thin, but not heavy - lovely texture. Not too sweet and the lemon glaze is just the right finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
i loved this cake! i was very nervous after reading about it being dense and not a strong strawberry flavor, especially since i have only made a couple cakes from scratch. i went for it anyway and it was a bit dense but just reminded me of the texture of carrot cake but with strawberry flavor- yum! i did follow one alteration suggested a while back about doubling the strawberries, then i pureed them in a processor and reduced them on the stove. i was hoping for more strawberry flavor-less liquid but since i haven't followed the original also i can't say for sure this made any difference. i thought the flavor was delicate but delicious coming from fresh berries rather than a box or gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This is an awesome recipe! It took a while to find a strawberry cake recipe that didn't call for Jello, but it was worth it! This recipe is super moist and yummy. For anyone who is interested, though (I don't know if it mentions in the recipe) it doesn't actually have to be a strawberry cake. I've tried it a few times with other fruit as well. First with blueberries, which was... interesting. Tasted fine, if not particularly strongly of blueberry (maybe a pie filling would work better?), but it was rather interesting looking - especially when cooked. I made it with Banana as well, for my dad's birthday - that turned out AWESOME. Especially since I used a chocolate frosting. It was really heavy, though. I probably shouldn't have made it a layer cake... LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAKURAKAT

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States