Jesse and Steve's Fresh Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
The cake by itself was very sweet, with frosting on top it was too sweet. I think this recipe would make wonderful muffins, but not a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made a double batch (I had a LOT of strawberries that needed to be used up!) I used half brown sugar and half white sugar, and I added some red (pink) food coloring to the batter to brighten it up a bit. areas with the strawberries were a little too mushy (I did mash them, but I guess not good enough), where the rest of the cake seemed a tad on the dense side. Next time, I would probably use processor to destroy the strawberries, and add another half tsp of the baking soda, just to make it extra fluffy. Maybe use cake flour instead of AP. Great Recipe! Great taste and I would try it again. It's definitely one of the best simple recipes out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Fantastic cake that is going into my cookbook. I didn't even frost it. I topped ours with whipped cream and a strawberry/blueberry compote with lemon juice. When that ran out we ate the cake by itself. I think it would be delicious in a trifle with a layer of meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe! I really wanted a strawberry cake, but I'm vegetarian, and most of the recipes I saw called for gelatin. I was so happy when I found this! I used more like 1.5c strawberries and plain yogurt instead of sour cream, just because that's what I had on hand. Came out delicious, with an excellent consistency. I teach cake decorating, and every one of my students and coworkers who tried it asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Made this last night and it was so good! Going to make it again tonight so I can bring a cake in to work tomorrow just for fun. I followed the recipe except I used regular sugar cause that was what I had and two cups of diced strawberries. I also used a cream cheese frosting instead. My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made a large layer cake with this recipe. I doubled it. I spent hours scouring the internet for the best strawberry cake and settled on this one. Made it exactly like the recipe. Dense, dry, bready, and not very sweet or strawberry like. I have made other natural scratch strawberry cakes, and this was not one of the better ones, in my opinion. It would be tasty warmed up with lots of frosting. If I made it again I would use oil instead of butter because it creates a moister crumb, and add about 1/2 cup buttermilk for moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Delicious cake! I made this for my Dad's 60th birthday and it was a hit! I used the raw sugar but I was concerned the stuff I had was too coarse so I put it in my food processor to make it finer. I also pureed the strawberries instead of mashing them. My Mom said it was one of the best cakes she's ever had, and she always cooks from scratch. Definitely recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Fresz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megan
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was my first ever made from scratch cake and I have to admit I was skeptical. I made a few changes like the others mentioned. Instead of sour cream I used strawberry yogurt (yoplait one reg size container) I added a tsp of baking powder and 1 tablespoon of strawberry extract. Other than those few items I kept the recipe as is. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This cake was wonderful -- more like strawberry bread (along the lines of banana bread when I made it). I added a different icing -- 1/2 C butter, 1/2 C pureed strawberries, 2 tbsp frozen lemonade concentrate and ~4 cups of powdered sugar. The icing sweetened it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I don't know why I waited so long to make this cake - it's delicious! I think my pan was larger than 13x9 because the cake was rather thin, but not heavy - lovely texture. Not too sweet and the lemon glaze is just the right finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States