Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Though I haven't made too many fresh tomato soups, this one was certainly the best out of any I had tried. It was delicious, creamy, and sweet. I doubled the recipe and had plenty to share with others who also loved it. The only change I made was substituting the chicken broth with vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Union Mills, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
The base of this recipe is definitely on the road to perfectly delicious, but my outcome was way too salty. Perhaps due to the combination of chicken stock, celery salt, and salt, I would recommend ommitting and simply adding at the end to taste. My result will be eaten b/c it is truly a delicious soup, but overshadowed by a ridicious amount of saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I've made this many times, and have frozen it also when making big batches. All I can say is, its wonderful. I generally use whole milk and ground celery seed in mine, just because that is what I have on hand all the time, without any notable difference in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamler, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This soup is fantastic! The only change I made was to use celery seed and garlic salt instead of celery salt and garlic powder because that is what I had. Best tomato soup I ever had. It took longer to prep because I used smallish tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
DELICIOUS!! won't ever need another tomato soup recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Amazing. I think it must be the carrot that makes it so good. I am a vegetarian and used veggie stock. Also I did not add salt as between the stock and the celery salt it is plenty salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
For those of you out there who are like me reading this recipe and thinking to yourself "Oh, Ill just use canned crushed tomato/pureed tomato because that's all I have on hand" DONT DO IT! Just go buy the fresh tomatoes! And while you're at it go pick up a pint of heavy cream. The roux with milk was a disaster every time I re-made it and came out chunky in my soup (ew). Looks aside, the flavor was halfway decent. Thick and slightly chunky tomato soup spiced up with chilli powder and a couple dashes of Franks Red Hot sauce in addition to the above seasonings. Made an OK bowl of tomato soup to be paired with my grilled cheese sandwich for tonight's dinner. Any remaining soup will be tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I made this last night after sitting in the freezing rain at my son's baseball game. Since it was on a whim, I only had canned plum tomatoes. I used two-28 oz. cans and otherwise followed the recipe closely (only subbing celery seed for salt and fresh basil for dried). SO much better than canned soup! I made some parmesan crisps to go along with this. Looking forward to making this soup with fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
So tasty! This recipe inspired me to make from-scratch spaghetti sauce this weekend. There were no leftovers for our tomato soup and grilled cheese lunch. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knamos85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States