Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by EliskaNatalia
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
It was really great, although more time consuming than anticipated. I did not choose to put carrot or onion in, but everything else was followed as written. It had a hard time getting my tomatoes seedless. I strained and saved the juice out first in a small mesh strainer. Then I strained the rest of the mixture in a colander to get the seeds to fall out but retain the tomato pieces. It worked reasonably well. The few seeds that remained did not affect the overall taste. I am also posting a picture: I may have added too much milk because its more bisque-like. But it was still tomatoey and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I skipped the peeling and seeding. I put the tomatoes, carrots and used fresh garlic instead of powdered in my Vitamix. My first time making fresh tomato soup. Excellent. Thinking next time I'm going to make it with coconut milk and coconut half and half for a richer version. Would love to have garden fresh tomatoes year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I made this today, and I love it! I doubled the recipe to make 4 pint jars full. The flavor is wonderful. I used tomatoes and carrots from my garden, and as some other people suggested, I added a bit of minced green pepper (also from the garden). My only comment is that it took longer for the carrot to get soft, so I cooked it for an hour instead of a half hour. The result is a delicious, flavorful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was pretty good. It reminded me a bit of the creamy tomato soup I have at a restaurant. I thought it was a bit heavy on the dried basil and black pepper, but otherwise the flavor was great. I didn't have celery salt, so I added a stalk of celery with the veggies. Personally, I thought the finely chopped carrots added an odd texture, and thought I should have pureed them instead. However, DH liked the texture. One thing is that I only got most of the tomato seeds removed. I didn't like having the few seeds that were in the soup, but that's my fault. Overall, it was a nice recipe, which I expected from Shorecook, and I'm sure we'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe as written. The flavor was good however I didn't like the use of the flour roux to thicken - it interfered with the fresh taste of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Tomato soup is just OK and I would prefer to not eat it-- but THIS tomato soup I would sneak away alone and eat all of it myself! BTW, husband loved it too as I did share and am now giving your recipe to those in our community garden as we wait for the tomatoes to get ripe. Hope to be able to freeze plenty this year. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
making for the third time today. You can can add any veggie you have. today I'm adding left over grilled bell peppers and zuchinni and I use an stick blender in the pot to save doing extra dishes. Very healthy portion and great way to clean out veggie drawer. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
very good, but needs a lot of tomatoes so depending on the season can be relatively expensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This recipe was great! I only have one critique which may be on my part. It takes MUCH longer than 2 hours to cook this dish. The first time I made this tomato soup it took 3 1/2 hours. The part that takes the longest is peeling and seeding a tomato. I stood at my counter for two hours peeling seeding and chopping tomatoes, but hey, maybe it's just me. Also I thought 8 cups of tomatoes would be around 15 tomatoes. I was wrong; I would have need over 50 tomatoes for this! So I was short on the serving size and had to cut it down to one serving which still made a lot. A part from my tomato struggle it was the best soup I have ever had in my life, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverdale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
YUMMY!!!! I did modify some. I sauteed the onion, garlic, carrot, and fresh basil in butter. I then added a 1/2 quart of chicken broth, along with sea salt and pepper. I used 2- 28oz. of Dei Fratelli tomatoes (stewed) after adding tomatoes and heating I added the milk along with corn starch. Soooooo GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tutti
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States