Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
making for the third time today. You can can add any veggie you have. today I'm adding left over grilled bell peppers and zuchinni and I use an stick blender in the pot to save doing extra dishes. Very healthy portion and great way to clean out veggie drawer. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
very good, but needs a lot of tomatoes so depending on the season can be relatively expensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This recipe was great! I only have one critique which may be on my part. It takes MUCH longer than 2 hours to cook this dish. The first time I made this tomato soup it took 3 1/2 hours. The part that takes the longest is peeling and seeding a tomato. I stood at my counter for two hours peeling seeding and chopping tomatoes, but hey, maybe it's just me. Also I thought 8 cups of tomatoes would be around 15 tomatoes. I was wrong; I would have need over 50 tomatoes for this! So I was short on the serving size and had to cut it down to one serving which still made a lot. A part from my tomato struggle it was the best soup I have ever had in my life, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverdale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
YUMMY!!!! I did modify some. I sauteed the onion, garlic, carrot, and fresh basil in butter. I then added a 1/2 quart of chicken broth, along with sea salt and pepper. I used 2- 28oz. of Dei Fratelli tomatoes (stewed) after adding tomatoes and heating I added the milk along with corn starch. Soooooo GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tutti
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katikins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was a delicious way to use tomatoes out of the garden. We froze the soup to eat on a cold winter day without the milk as a review suggested. We made it the other day and added the milk when we had heated the soup. My only suggestion is to freeze in smaller batches if you are only feeding a couple people at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I've made this recipe several times and it is always a big hit in my household. Fresh ingredients make a big difference. I sub the celery salt and garlic powder for the real thing - 2-3 stalks of celery and garlic to taste (at least 6 cloves in my kitchen). Last time, I ran out of tomatoes around 5 1/2 cups, so I replaced the rest with some broccoli. This was a surprisingly wonderful addition! Going forward, I don't think I'll ever forget to have a bunch of broccoli on hand for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was a bit more labor intensive because I used frozen cherry tomatoes from my garden but the results were delicious. The only actual ingredients that I changed was to add a dash of liquid smoke to it and I think it made the flavor a lot richer and a little more complex. Excellent recipe. I will use this again with my frozen garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Great recipe. Simple to make and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
My version. Used roughly 9-10 tomatoes, put in the food processor with my celery and carrots. I left the seeds in it. My husband doesn't mind. Added fresh basil, thyme and parsley. Celery seed instead of celery salt. I omitted salt completely since I added 1 32oz carton of campells soups torilla soup. With the extra liquid I had to use more butter and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States