Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was very good. I did make a few changes. My husband, a Chef, said you should use loin and not tenderloin. I used a loin roast and was perfect. I added cumin, coriander, a dark beer (fat tire, my favorite), and a spoon full of peanut butter. Sounds strange, but you only want enough fot the nutty flavor, helps bring out the flavors of the beans. Added hot sauce too. Severed over lime flavor chips, toped with black sour cream, cheese and black olives. To me, it was almost a gormet natchos not a chili, but the word chili is different in every place. I think I would take the lid off for an hour, to much liquid or add a little less broth, or even less beer, can always drink what you don't use, right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sally Renz Cummings
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Yes! My Auntie Jerre's! I love it made it several times. Last time, I added a bottle of beer, green chilies and then hot sauce at the end. Nice versatile recipe. She knows cooking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Renz Cummings

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I had some pork stew meat that I bought on clearance that I used in this recipe instead of a pork tenderloin (I am a mom on a very tight budget!). I did double the meat in this recipe only because I had two 1 1/2 pound packages that I needed to use. I tossed the stew meat with a little flour and the spices, then quickly browned the meat in a little EVOO before adding it to the crockpot. The recipe didn't specify which kind of salsa to use so I used salsa verde. This is cooking away right now--smells amazing. I'll update my review once we've had a chance to eat it. EDITED: VERY good. I liked this quite a bit. Next time, I think I'll add more red pepper and add a little more spices, maybe some fresh garlic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
A very different recipe for chili. A nice change. Make sure you don't add more chicken broth than the recipe calls for. Also, don't drain the black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Love this recipe. I made it with "Smokin' Hot" Cilantro salsa and it was quite tasty. Please note, the nutrition information on the side looks to me to be off considerably. Based on the ingredients and 8 serving portions, I calculate it closer to 400 calories per serving rather than the 644 shown on the nutrition information. Do your own math!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jarrett Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was very good. I used a pork roast instead of tenderloin to save money. I added 1 can of mild green chilis and adobo seasoning. Served over chips with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I thought this was great. I also added green chilies like others recommended. Though I did serve this over a cilantro lime rice. The combo was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This was delicious! Healthy and very good. I added 1/2 bottle of beer, minced garlic and a bay leaf. Delish! Very hearty and filling, as well. A keeper, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I used the recipe as inspiration for the ingredients I had on hand and it is super tasty. (My changes - generous amounts of mexican seasoning blend, and chili powder. A whooole lotta garlic, big fat cloves sliced up. Pinto beans with jalapenos. Fire roasted tomatoes with adobo seasoning. Chopped fresh pasilla pepper as well as the red pepper. Fresh chopped serrano peppers.) Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Tried this today and it was simple and very good. I will definitly make again. I served it with a little sour cream and jalapenos and a splash of vinegar. I will have for lunch tomorrow in a whole wheat tortilla. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States