Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Needed more flavor, so I doubled the chili powder and cumin, and added some cayenne pepper. A 4.5 that we will cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
delicious - makes a ton. I pureed my salsa out of personal preference for no chunks, and added some corn as well. Served over rice, with cornbread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I am not a chile connoisseur; my husband is. I discovered that I prefer pork in my chile as opposed to ground beef. Huh...who knew? I really liked this, but I think I would have liked it even better had I used hot salsa instead of mild. My husband added cayenne pepper to his. I was trying to use up foods I already had in my pantry, so I used 1 can of black beans and 2 of light red kidney beans. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I had an almost 3lb pork loin roast. I wanted chunks instead of shredded meat, so I cut it up, flour and salt and peppered it and browned with the onions and garlic. Then cooked it in the crock pot. I used my own homemade salsa and also added some jalapeños and chili peppers from the garden. Still used the three cans of beans called for, just one was red beans. Simmered it a good 8 hours and it was so delicious, we topped it with some sour cream, scallions and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
It is SOOOOOOO good! I can't wait to make it again! My husband and mother in law LOVED it and so did I! I did do 2 cans black bean 1 can red (just to mix it up) and also had some fresh corn I threw in to boot. You can do SO much with this! My husband made burritos with it, it was awesome with in a bread bowl with some cheese on top and it would be aesome on nachos. I am SOO excited about this it is not even funny! Took 15 minutes in the morning to do and came home to a fantastic meal! It did make ALOT of food though so you will have left overs OR you can feed a huge family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I love recipes that are simple to throw together for those busy days when we don't have forever to spend in the kitchen. I followed this recipe exactly, did not read any reviews. It really was simple to make but I found the overall taste as written to be pretty bland. It needs something to give it a kick, I used medium salsa, maybe hot would have been better and perhaps a few Jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
We LOVED this recipe! Never would've thought to use a pork roast for chili, but let me tell you, it worked out wonderfully. I didn't find any need to slice up the pork into strips; just put the roast in the crockpot whole and then you can easily shred the meat with a couple of forks before serving. Also, there's no need to use pork tenderloin. A less expensive cut of pork works well as the slow cooker will make it super tender. This is now known as "Piggy Chili" in our house; thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe as is. Supper simple and tasty!This is a do again. Everyone from 7 yr & up liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Excellent!! I halved the recipe and used boneless sirloin pork chops instead of the tenderloin. The low and slow cooking method makes the meat fall-apart tender, so I didn't bother using an expensive cut of pork. I'm not sure why people said not to increase the amount of liquid because while I halved everything else, I kept the 1/2 cup of chicken broth. After 8 hours on low there was very little liquid, so instead of serving this as a stew I made up a batch of Lime Cilantro Rice (from this site) and served the stew over that. Fantastic combination!! Thank you so much; I'll make often! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States