Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
this was very good and healthy. i cut up the pork into cubes before cooking to avoid having to do it later. only other aleration i made was to add a can of green chilis. i also used a cilantro flavored salsa. 10 hours on low in crock. for added texture, top chili with crumbled tortilla chips just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This is delicious!! I made it more or less according to the recipe - I rarely measure anything, especially when it comes to chili, soup, etc. I did use my own homemade salsa instead of commercial, because that's what was on hand, and added a bottle of Dos Equis Amber beer. It took no time to load the slow cooker. After ladling into my bowl, I topped it with ff sour cream - oh, so good!! Hubby used a Mexican blend of cheeses on his, and was "m'mming" all the way to the bottom of his bowl! He usually takes leftovers for his lunch, but I cooked something else for him so that I could have them to myself!!! This dish is now on my recipe rotation - thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My husband and I really liked this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made this extremely easy meal one day, not expecting much. I used a Loin roast, instead of a tenderloin - you cook it for so long, it will come out tender. My family surprisingly stopped by and I served it over rice, with a little bit of cheese. My 15-year-old sister begged my Mom to get the recipie, my mom went out and got a crock pot so she can make it and my Dad - the meat-and-potato guy - was telling everyone how good it was. I froze the leftovers and send it with myhusband when he travels!!! I'm going home to eat some leftovers now!!!! Yum... Oh, I used Cilatro salsa and added corn and some hot sauce! Perfect, easy dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Fabulous! Don't change a thing! Delicious with tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Yum made this for the first time and so easy and yummy. I shared the recipes with a few friends and now it will be a family favourite and thats saying alot for a picky family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My whole family loved this. We used a pork loin roast like mara840 suggested it was approx. 2 1/4 which probably gave a better meat to bean ratio. I cut it in half so it would cook faster and trimmed off the layer of fat on top. At the end I just shredded the meat with a fork. I took the lid off at the end like others suggested, but I don't think that was necessary. I added 2 cloves chopped garlic and a green pepper and extra onion and a can of green chilies because I had it on hand and it's healthy. I chopped the veggies pretty small too. I served it over brown rice which was pretty good and also fried up some polenta which I had on had. Polenta wasn't good on its own, but fabulous when topped with this chili. My boys even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I thought this was good, but not really fantastic. I cook for a family with 3 kids. I would have given this 3 stars, but the some what picky 4 y/o said this was the most wonderful thing he ever had in his mouth! I changed a few things. Added frozen corn (kids like corn), used a crock pot after browning meat/onions, inreased the chili/cumin. In the last 30 minutes of cooking, I threw in cilantro and the juice of one lime. Poured it into a casserole, topped it with cheddar cheese, baked until cheese melted. I will make this for the family again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
turned out excellent. the chili is really tasty and an easy meal to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Excellent! Perfectly spiced. Varied the beans with 1 can black, 1 can white, and 1 can pinto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States