Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Great recipe! I haven't made it as stated because I just used what I had on hand. I substituted 1lb dried great northern beans for the black beans and used an entire box of chicken stock. I also added green chiles and salt. Seriously good. This will go in the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Has an unusual flavor and texture....really good. Not hard to make at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is delicious. I read reviews and added beer and tomatoes and green chilis. Next time I'll try it with hot salsa instead of medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Itasca, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I loved how simple it was! I liked it a lot and ate two bowls. My girls only gave it a 5 or 6 on a scale of 1 to 10 though, they just thought it was okay. But I was pleasantly surprised and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe did not disappoint! I made it as the recipe written except that I used green bell pepper instead of red. The recipe does not indicate that the black beans be drained but after researching whether or not black beans should be drained I decided to drain them. (The video for the recipe does say to drain them.) After 40 years of never draining beans for chili's I have made I decided to drain the beans for this and am glad I did. As often with crock-pot cookery the dishes look like they need more liquid than they do and in the end I tend to wish that I had not added any additional liquids because more then enough comes from the vegetables and meat as they cook. As someone else suggested I served this over cilantro lime rice with a dollop of reduced fat sour cream on top. I read that many people add some beer to this recipe. I'm sure it has a great flavor but the recipe will be more soup like rather than stew consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Used sirloin pork roast, cut into cubes, floured and browned, added about 1/4 c dry red wine and can green chilis, also mixed beans: black, pinto and chili, simmered on stove all day. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
More spice. More cooking time (closer to 10 hrs)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Loved this! Was so yummy and easy to make. This is now one of my families favorite dishes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This is so delicious and pretty easy to make! I did these minor variations: used pork loin, I had a 1.11 lb roast and cubed it. I only had 2 cans of black beans and I used those and substituted a can of hominy for the 3rd because the flavors mesh well. It was delicious. Since I cooked it overnight and woke up smelling it, I used for an omelet filling Sunday morning, sprinkling it with a little cheese and chopped fresh tomato. Yum, what a great versatile recipe. I thank you for passing on your Aunt Jerre's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States