Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Didnt have teriyaki- excellent anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Excellent flavor for my deer jerky. After not making any venison jerky for over ten years because it was too much hassle, I decided to drag out the old dehydrator after my latest harvest of a couple of deer. The problem...I had long forgotten my recipe and needed a new one. I've always liked the sweet and spicy jerky I purchased in the store so decided to give this one a try. We are sure glad I did! I followed the recipe with only a few exceptions. First I always marinate the meat overnight using ziplock bags. Every time I get in the fridge for something I work the meat around without having to open the bag. The result is less mess with evenly and thoroughly marinated meat. Secondly I'm not crazy about the liquid smoke taste so I cut it back and even omitted it on one batch. I guess that's up to personal preference. Lastly and probably most importantly to us, instead of the crushed black and red pepper I used in its place some creole seasoning and McCormick Caribbean Jerk seasoning. It resulted in some great jerky...sweet with just enough pop of heat. Sweet, spicy and OH SO GOOD! My family and friends are eating it faster than I can make it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Hands. Down. The best! I did only use 3 TBL mesquite liquid smoke and did ~4 hours at my lowest temp, 170F. The flavor is phenomenal, I would recommend using 2 lbs of sirloin tip since it makes a lot of marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Made this recipe and its the best jerky ive ever tasted BAR NONE! Took it to work with me and they all said the same thing! To the people on here that said its not good, your pallet is smoking crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I have smoked jerky for 15 years and have tried many recipes. After reading the reviews; I decided to try the recipe. However; instead of using pineapple juice I used 1 can of frozen concentrated pineapple juice. Pineapple juice is a natural meat tenderizer and it breaks up the chewy fiber in the meat. Using concentrated vs. juice will give you the real sweet taste of pineapple. Also, I added crushed pepper flakes / sprinkled over the meat before it went to the smoker. It adds heat to the jerky so you get the heat and sweet taste. Basically, I used everything in the recipe except I added concentrate vs. juice and added additional red pepper flakes after marinating the steak. The overall taste of the jerky was excellent and friends that try all of my different types of jerky liked this one the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Handy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Used 3 tbsp. liquid smoke instead of 5. Add 3 tbsp. honey No additional salt Moose meat best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angel
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Best jerky ever!!! Followed recipe to the letter except 2 things: low sodium soy sauce and half of the suggested liquid smoke. This will define tell be the family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is the best jerky EVER! I love making this so much I have to keep from eating it raw! OH MY GOD does it make my mouth water!!!!! I have made it by the recipe and then i made some adjustments. (it was a touch too spicy for my crew.) 1. I never have teriyaki sauce so I just add more soy sauce and pineapple 2. I cut the liquid smoke to 2 or 3 teaspoons. 3. I dump all the spices in the liquid. 4. I cut the red pepper to 1/4 tsp and the black to 1 teaspoon mainly because I ran out of cracked black pepper and had to use ground. That said. its good GOOD! I love love love this! I also dont let it dry to the dry dry stage. I like a little chewiness to my jerky. Its soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
The Good,the bad n`the jerky ... dust ball Rolling by ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowCrab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Well, for 1 lb of sliced meat...the liquid (2 cups) is a bit much. I looked at the ingredients and did my own thing. Like, I didn't use garlic/onion powders (used minced grn onion and pasted roasted garlic). Went lower with brown sugar and used a red wine vinegar. I also have dried Habanero and Jalapeno powders I incorporated so I backed off the black & red pepper. And because I like it, I added grated peel from 1 tangerine and it's juice. Anyway...after trimming a 1.9 oz Angus bottom round roast (found it on sale) I ended up with 1.3 oz of sliced meat. Once it dried (I have a dehydrator) then it turned into 9 oz of finished product (about 4 hours dehydration). I don't believe you need to have the meat 'swimming' in marinade for good results. I had enough marinade to thoroughly coat meat slices in a large zip bag and massaged it around every few hours before it sat overnight. Good jerky marinade recipe you can fool around with easily. I also do a cross cut on the meat (I have a small electric slicer). Not totally with or against the meat grain. This seems to produce the best chew for jerky. Thanks for the post DIXYCHICK. For 5 bucks I got a decent batch you would pay twice as much for from a vendor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States