Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Yum! Perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
My boyfriend loves it! It takes a little time, but well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Marianne~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mashpee, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This was so yummy. I've made it twice in the past month. I tried to follow the exact recipe but had a problem with the onion powder in my cupboard. I ended up using minced onion, it was delicious. Oh yeah, only used 4 tbls liquid smoke too. I plan to make it a lot. Thanks Dixychik!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
The jerky was perfect! I tried the marinade with turkey legs and chicken thighs and YUM! The meat melts off the bones! I'm making it again today and I'm going to fill my smoker with chicken, turkey, and short ribs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This recipe has a wonderful taste! WOW! It makes my mouth water even before I start to chew. The honey gives it just enough sweatness to balance the hot. It is our new favorite jerky recipe! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
My husband used venison instead of beef. It turned out great, although I didn't read the instructions thoroughly and mixed together all the ingredients listed. I didn't cook the marinade in a saucepan either. I just put everything in a big ziploc and let the meat soak overnight. My family and his family all thought it's the best jerky recipe we've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Excellent stuff! I improvised slightly: first, I got home and realized I had no brown sugar. I did, however, have Sweet & Low Brown (brown sugar substitute). I used the recommended conversion amount for the sweet & low. I also used low sodium soy sauce - but ran a little short on the amount. I use Wright's liquid smoke - and it's really REALLY strong, so I only used about half the amount. I substituted Penzey's Spices Black & Red Spice (black pepper & spicy cayenne blend) for some of the pepper too. Results? Amazing! The fake brown sugar worked really well, the smokey flavor is definitely there, and the Black & Red Spice gives it an added kick. Can't forget the pepper flakes! Definitely will make this again, and can't wait to share this with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Parents have an organic farm and we got a half a cow for Christmas... there's no way between the two of us we can eat that much meat, so I recently purchased a dehydrator and this is the first recipe I tried. I feel no need to search for additional recipes. This is perfect! Purchased mason jars and will make custom lables filled with this jerky to give as gifts... if there is any left :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This is the first and last jerkey recipe that I will use! We did make a minor adjustment to the recipe though. Pineapple juice concentrate is 1 of the main ingredients in terriyaki sauce, so we didn't feel like we needed to add the extra juice that it called for. Otherwise we followed the recipe as stated and it came out unbelievable! We were going to follow our dehydrator's insructions and dehydrate for 1-2 days(Ronco 5 tray), but it was done WAY before that, so we will def follow the suggested drying time here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
my boyfriend and all his poker buddies loved it! next week they want me to make %lbs of it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States