Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Followed this recipe to a 'T,' which I believe is necessary to rate it properly. Absolutely perfect 'as is,' no changes to the ingredients. Just a suggestion for prep -- there's no need to marinate in two steps, just combine everything in one glass bowl (plastic absorbs smell) or Ziploc bag overnight. If you don't have a dehydrator, you can use skewers and hang them from one end in the oven at 150F for 4-5 hours. I also boil the leftover marinade for at least 10 min to rid of bacteria or until desired consistency and use it for BBQ sauce on beef, chicken or pork. Why waste it? Everyone loves this jerky, so it's the only one I make. Great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Excellent stuff! I improvised slightly: first, I got home and realized I had no brown sugar. I did, however, have Sweet & Low Brown (brown sugar substitute). I used the recommended conversion amount for the sweet & low. I also used low sodium soy sauce - but ran a little short on the amount. I use Wright's liquid smoke - and it's really REALLY strong, so I only used about half the amount. I substituted Penzey's Spices Black & Red Spice (black pepper & spicy cayenne blend) for some of the pepper too. Results? Amazing! The fake brown sugar worked really well, the smokey flavor is definitely there, and the Black & Red Spice gives it an added kick. Can't forget the pepper flakes! Definitely will make this again, and can't wait to share this with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
My husband used venison instead of beef. It turned out great, although I didn't read the instructions thoroughly and mixed together all the ingredients listed. I didn't cook the marinade in a saucepan either. I just put everything in a big ziploc and let the meat soak overnight. My family and his family all thought it's the best jerky recipe we've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Parents have an organic farm and we got a half a cow for Christmas... there's no way between the two of us we can eat that much meat, so I recently purchased a dehydrator and this is the first recipe I tried. I feel no need to search for additional recipes. This is perfect! Purchased mason jars and will make custom lables filled with this jerky to give as gifts... if there is any left :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This was so yummy. I've made it twice in the past month. I tried to follow the exact recipe but had a problem with the onion powder in my cupboard. I ended up using minced onion, it was delicious. Oh yeah, only used 4 tbls liquid smoke too. I plan to make it a lot. Thanks Dixychik!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
The jerky was perfect! I tried the marinade with turkey legs and chicken thighs and YUM! The meat melts off the bones! I'm making it again today and I'm going to fill my smoker with chicken, turkey, and short ribs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
customized this to 12 servings and had a quart of marinaide too much. overall tasted good but could not tell if pineapple juice was there or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
If you don't have a food dehydrator, this can be made in the oven too. Just lay the meat on cooling racks on top of foil-lined baking sheets and bake on 150 degrees for 5-6 hours. Open the door every now and then to let steam escape. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This can easily be the best jerky that you have ever tasted. Necessary changes: marinate at least 24 hours in the fridge, and use too much marinade (too little will leave too little flavor). A few options to try: cut the meat cross-grain (this allows for tenderness and flavor soaking), use reduced sodium soy, gourmet teriyaki (make sure it contains some type of wine), use any lean cut of meat (typically some kind of round/top round), and finally the pepper flakes and spices should coat the meat before marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Excellent!! Cut back on the liqid smoke and no pepper flakes. Sweet and sassy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States