Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This can easily be the best jerky that you have ever tasted. Necessary changes: marinate at least 24 hours in the fridge, and use too much marinade (too little will leave too little flavor). A few options to try: cut the meat cross-grain (this allows for tenderness and flavor soaking), use reduced sodium soy, gourmet teriyaki (make sure it contains some type of wine), use any lean cut of meat (typically some kind of round/top round), and finally the pepper flakes and spices should coat the meat before marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
i have to hide this from my boyfriend or the kids won't get any when they come visit! i use a dehydrator overnight and it's perfect! i also add some of JIM GOODE'S BBQ RUB to it as it makes my ribs sooo tender! don't skimp on the pineapple juice, the enzymes help to break down the meat. SOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
YUM!! The recipe title says it all. It had all those flavors going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
We used this recipe to make deer jerky. We actually ground the meat and then added the marinade. This was a lot of marinade and we used it for about 3 1/2 pounds of ground meat. We let it marinate for about 4 hours and then used a jerky gun and a dehydrator. It has a wonderful flavor and we will definitely be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Awesome! If it was up to my family and friends I could make a batch every day, it disappears so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZYPITTSBURGH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I didn't have pineapple juice, so I added 1/3rd cup molasses instead. Also added some extra pepper flakes for a little more heat. 1 lb of meat took 4 hrs. in the dehydrator at 155°f. Came out excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
i omitted the liquid smoke,doubled the ground pepper and instead of the pineapple juice,i went with half apple juice and half honey.I smoked for 20 minutes with applewood chips and then put in the oven.it was the best jerky i have ever had.just incredible.I want to take the 5 tbsp of liquid smoke and use 5 tbsp of some other liquid that would compliment this recipe.Im a chef so i love to figure this stuff out.I will think of something.i was thinking of using a nice ice wine,something not too sweet.or maybe just 1/2 spicy bbq sauce and half water(2.5 tbsp of each)i think that would work great!i just made ot again,this time with the original recipe,it is better when you smoke the meat,but the taste was not all that different,stil.......SHAZAM!!!!awesome stuff.i bought a 18 pound roast and have made about 4-5 pounds of jerky.should last a while(doubt it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
SO GOOD,I USED BUFFALO,YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
The best jerky....I smoked it for three hours and then let it dry out for 1 more in my smoker without smoke. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Branford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
So good!! everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States