Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Followed this recipe to a 'T,' which I believe is necessary to rate it properly. Absolutely perfect 'as is,' no changes to the ingredients. Just a suggestion for prep -- there's no need to marinate in two steps, just combine everything in one glass bowl (plastic absorbs smell) or Ziploc bag overnight. If you don't have a dehydrator, you can use skewers and hang them from one end in the oven at 150F for 4-5 hours. I also boil the leftover marinade for at least 10 min to rid of bacteria or until desired consistency and use it for BBQ sauce on beef, chicken or pork. Why waste it? Everyone loves this jerky, so it's the only one I make. Great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This is the first jerky recipe I tried with my new dehydrator, and it was amazing! Love the little bit of sweet, balanced with the little bit of heat. And the marinade was so great, I think I'll try this with some other meats to BBQ. Thank you for the great recipe! I'll be making this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Turned out wonderful. I marinated it all overnight... Didn't have a dehydrator so I did it on a sheet pan with a cooling rack above it for ventilation at 150deg for 2 hours and 200deg for another hour to hour and a half. It was wonderful. I also didn't use liquid smoke. It is so tender. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This can easily be the best jerky that you have ever tasted. Necessary changes: marinate at least 24 hours in the fridge, and use too much marinade (too little will leave too little flavor). A few options to try: cut the meat cross-grain (this allows for tenderness and flavor soaking), use reduced sodium soy, gourmet teriyaki (make sure it contains some type of wine), use any lean cut of meat (typically some kind of round/top round), and finally the pepper flakes and spices should coat the meat before marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
i have to hide this from my boyfriend or the kids won't get any when they come visit! i use a dehydrator overnight and it's perfect! i also add some of JIM GOODE'S BBQ RUB to it as it makes my ribs sooo tender! don't skimp on the pineapple juice, the enzymes help to break down the meat. SOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
YUM!! The recipe title says it all. It had all those flavors going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
We used this recipe to make deer jerky. We actually ground the meat and then added the marinade. This was a lot of marinade and we used it for about 3 1/2 pounds of ground meat. We let it marinate for about 4 hours and then used a jerky gun and a dehydrator. It has a wonderful flavor and we will definitely be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Awesome! If it was up to my family and friends I could make a batch every day, it disappears so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZYPITTSBURGH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I didn't have pineapple juice, so I added 1/3rd cup molasses instead. Also added some extra pepper flakes for a little more heat. 1 lb of meat took 4 hrs. in the dehydrator at 155°f. Came out excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
i omitted the liquid smoke,doubled the ground pepper and instead of the pineapple juice,i went with half apple juice and half honey.I smoked for 20 minutes with applewood chips and then put in the oven.it was the best jerky i have ever had.just incredible.I want to take the 5 tbsp of liquid smoke and use 5 tbsp of some other liquid that would compliment this recipe.Im a chef so i love to figure this stuff out.I will think of something.i was thinking of using a nice ice wine,something not too sweet.or maybe just 1/2 spicy bbq sauce and half water(2.5 tbsp of each)i think that would work great!i just made ot again,this time with the original recipe,it is better when you smoke the meat,but the taste was not all that different,stil.......SHAZAM!!!!awesome stuff.i bought a 18 pound roast and have made about 4-5 pounds of jerky.should last a while(doubt it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States