Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I cut the liquid smoke and brown sugar in half to accommodate my family's tastes. The meat had a great taste. I saved the marinade from yesterday and plan to put more meat in it today. I will let this batch marinate for at least 5-6 hours and will add more pepper flakes to heat things up a bit more. Wish I had a smoker!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is by far the best jerky recipe I have ever used. I had a huge leftover Christmas fully cooked ham and did not want to eat leftovers of that forever so decided to use this recipe and voila...Awesomeness. The ham and sweet hot spicyness of this marinade were made for each other. Added bonus is that instead of snacking on junk food I now crave this. Way to go Dixychik!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Okay this was a big hit. I bought a dehydrator just for this recipe. I ended up making 4lbs the first day which doesn't end up being much. I made some extra spicy with heavy red pepper to send to my brother. I doubled the marinade since I planned on doubling the meat but it was soooo not necessary. I had so much marinade that I am on my 8th lb of beef! It was such a hit and I had all of the marinade already I figured why the heck not! Great gifts. I have some marinating right now and instead of using red pepper flakes I think I am going to use dried Jalapeno flakes that I have. I also made a plain batch with no spice.. This recipe is defintely a keeper! I don't think it is sweet at all. Maybe next time I would cut back a bit on the liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
everyone loved it, made it for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Mixed all the ingrediants together. Did not cook it. We added habenaro to half the recipe.Very good. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it!!! Followed the recipe exactly, but changed the cooking method. We are using elk and have made 6 batches so far. I take the sliced up elk and boil it for about 3 minutes. I then drain it and put it into the marinade immediately and marinate it for 3 hours. And then dehydrate it. It only takes 2 hours to dry this way. EVERYONE in my family loves it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Love this! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I've been making jerky amongst other dehydrated foods for years now. After a little searching I found this one a few years back. I love sweet and hot jerky, and with a little tweeking I was able to improve upon it for my taste anyway. I added a little more brown sugar, used crushed pineapple on top of pineapple/ orange juice and cooked it down to a little thicker consistency. All in all a terrific recipe and just the kind I was looking for. This time I used venison and it was the best batch to date. I would recommend this to anyone who likes sweet/ teriyaki jerky... the pineapple really does set it off!!! Thanks for a really superb recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was my first attempt at making jerky, and wow, this was great! Might have a bit more kick than my dd will like so next time I'll leave red chili flakes off half the batch. Also, you can easily double the beef and not adjust the amount of marinade. I had waaaaaaay too much when I doubled everything. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDIALEIGH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I've been doing Jerky for 20 years. I've tried hundreds of recipies. This is the bomb. ***USE ABOUT 1/2 THE LIQUID SMOKE*** I've given away about 3 lbs. to friends. Now they are asking when I'll doing more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs

A quick and easy recipe for sweet and tangy meatballs.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States