Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Love, love, love this recipe! I did make a few changes. I use Round Roast instead of steak and coat the cut meat with salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder by eye. I don't cook the other ingredients in a sauce pan, I just add them together and toss the meat in. Also, I add some hot sauce to the mixture, about a teaspoon (way more for my boyfriend though. Maybe two tablespoons), but the longer you let it sit the hotter it gets! I also let it soak overnight in the fridge, at least six hours, but I prefer 12. :) I don't sprinkle any more seasoning on mine, but my boyfriend adds cracked red and black pepper, as well as cajun seasoning to his before drying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdez, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Very good, but next time I may use a little more heat. Or sprinkle with cracked pepper before drying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
REALLY good. Perfect blending of savory, sweet and spicy! PLENTY of marinade too, it coated everything and i had a little more than a pound of meat. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I cut the liquid smoke and brown sugar in half to accommodate my family's tastes. The meat had a great taste. I saved the marinade from yesterday and plan to put more meat in it today. I will let this batch marinate for at least 5-6 hours and will add more pepper flakes to heat things up a bit more. Wish I had a smoker!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is by far the best jerky recipe I have ever used. I had a huge leftover Christmas fully cooked ham and did not want to eat leftovers of that forever so decided to use this recipe and voila...Awesomeness. The ham and sweet hot spicyness of this marinade were made for each other. Added bonus is that instead of snacking on junk food I now crave this. Way to go Dixychik!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Okay this was a big hit. I bought a dehydrator just for this recipe. I ended up making 4lbs the first day which doesn't end up being much. I made some extra spicy with heavy red pepper to send to my brother. I doubled the marinade since I planned on doubling the meat but it was soooo not necessary. I had so much marinade that I am on my 8th lb of beef! It was such a hit and I had all of the marinade already I figured why the heck not! Great gifts. I have some marinating right now and instead of using red pepper flakes I think I am going to use dried Jalapeno flakes that I have. I also made a plain batch with no spice.. This recipe is defintely a keeper! I don't think it is sweet at all. Maybe next time I would cut back a bit on the liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
everyone loved it, made it for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Mixed all the ingrediants together. Did not cook it. We added habenaro to half the recipe.Very good. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it!!! Followed the recipe exactly, but changed the cooking method. We are using elk and have made 6 batches so far. I take the sliced up elk and boil it for about 3 minutes. I then drain it and put it into the marinade immediately and marinate it for 3 hours. And then dehydrate it. It only takes 2 hours to dry this way. EVERYONE in my family loves it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Love this! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States