Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. LIke others I just added the spices to the liquid ingredients. Freezing the meat and using a meat slicer is really the way to go. All slices are nice and even. I used 15 pounds of London Broil and 6 times the marinade recipe. There seemed to be plenty of marinade. Thanks for sharing the reciped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
If you don't have a food dehydrator, this can be made in the oven too. Just lay the meat on cooling racks on top of foil-lined baking sheets and bake on 150 degrees for 5-6 hours. Open the door every now and then to let steam escape. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I make my husband beef jerky every time he goes to the field, and this is by far his favorite. I make as written and it is delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crewshome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
wonderful flavors...:) thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzalizzalizza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Excellent Recipe. Makes really exceptional jerky. Though after using the recipe a dozen times or so I discovered that you don't need to spread the dry ingredients on the meat directly. Instead I put all the spices into a coffee grinder, ground them into a fine powder, then just mixed them into the marinade. I should note that I marinade considerably longer than the recipe recommends, at least a full day, and I use a Foodsaver Vacuum seal jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This recipe is outstanding, and highly recommend! I altered it a bit the last time I made, added a little more terriyaki sauce/glaze, more pepper flakes, and used orange/pineapple juice, come out awesome!! Had numerous requests to sell from friends, neighbors, and family!! YUMMY!!! Can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Made this exactly as suggested, it was excellent. I did divide the pepper flakes at the end to only half the jerky so my son could eat it too. I loved the contrasting flavors and it was really tender and flavorful. I will be using this recipe again. Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Nice one! I followed exactly - but cut back on the liquid smoke a bit and used about a tablespoon of Sriracha Thai chile and garlic sauce in place of the red pepper flakes - you can't have jerky without the all important spicy element. It went perfectly with the teriyaki/pineapple flavor. It beats Alton's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This is the absolute best jerky recipe out there! I use it for elk and it is so sweet and spicy. Everyone I share with can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Love, love, love this recipe! I did make a few changes. I use Round Roast instead of steak and coat the cut meat with salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder by eye. I don't cook the other ingredients in a sauce pan, I just add them together and toss the meat in. Also, I add some hot sauce to the mixture, about a teaspoon (way more for my boyfriend though. Maybe two tablespoons), but the longer you let it sit the hotter it gets! I also let it soak overnight in the fridge, at least six hours, but I prefer 12. :) I don't sprinkle any more seasoning on mine, but my boyfriend adds cracked red and black pepper, as well as cajun seasoning to his before drying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdez, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States