Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a fantastic jerky recipe. I did add a few more ingredients to spice it up a bit after the first batch turned out a little too mild for my taste. First off, I added red pepper flakes to the spice rub as well as to the marinade. I also let the marinade simmer for a couple minutes just to give the peppers a chance to steep. I also added about a tablespoon of Thai chili garlic paste. And just for good measure I tossed in a few dashes of Tabasco. The result was a more flavorful, spicier jerky. Not flaming hot, but a little more bite than the original. This recipe is a FANTASTIC sweet and tangy base for jerky. I would also recommend beginning your drying process in the oven at around 300 degrees until the steam evaporates, then transfer to the drying racks. Getting the meat up to 160 degrees or so kills bacteria and speeds the drying. Then you move it to your dehydrator for another 3-4 hours (depending on how thick your slices are). I highly recommend this recipe. Nice work DIXYCHIK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Absolutely fantastic! My family LOVED this recipe. I made it for the annual guy's deer hunting trip. It was all gone before they got to the camp site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I've made this a few times, both with beef and with venison, Yum Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Made as directed. It's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Loved this recipe! Followed recipe exactly. Love the taste and the texture of the meat. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
just as the title promised...sweet, hot & spicy...it is VERY GOOD...i didn't have teriyaki so i left it out and used a sirloin steak (sliced into strips) nor did i use the liquid smoke as i put it in the smoker with maple wood chips...yes indeed and yummy jerky recipe...the dh luved it...thanks for sharing the recipe ... will be making it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Perfect. Only next time I will cut my meat thicker. My thicker pieces were a bit more tender than the thin pieces. I also marinaded my meat for 24 hours before drying and it took about 16 hrs to dry. My dryer doesnt have those fancy blower elements in it, so it takes longer for my food to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Hubby is a jerky-a-holic and didnt mind this flavor but didnt love it either. My hands and the house still smell like teriyaki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by Megan B.
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This was amazing. It's so easy and fast to do. Both my boyfriend and I loved it. I used beefalo sirloin for the meat. I got 2 lbs of it and then doubled the marinade. I pureed a whole pineapple instead of using pineapple juice. I used reduced sodium soy sauce and it turned out great! I'm going to use the leftover pineapple puree for a fruit roll-up. I'm planning to use this for a camping trip! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
the only recipe i make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States