Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I was marinating a steak in balsamic dressing and didn't get to cook it in a day or two so I decided to make jerky. I put the beef strips on a grilling rack; the pan was lined with aluminum and I sprinkled with ground black pepper. I cooked the beef on the racks at 150 degrees for 5-6 hours. I will definitely use this again when I am pushing the envelope on a steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I bought myself a food dehydrator this last spring intending to use it for the most part for the extra fruits and herbs I grow but my husband asked me to try to make some jerkey since he loves it and the store bought stuff is so expensive. I searched for a recipe to try and came across this one. Don't bother with heating the liquids and sugar or seasoning the meat w/dry ingredients, just mix everything except the meat in a bowl and stir well, the sugar dissolves really easily and you don't have to wait for the marinade to cool down. I didn't use the worcestershire sauce because it has fish ingredients and instead used extra teriyaki sauce and balsalmic vinegar and we love garlic so I used and extra 1/2 tsp. Let me tell you it was a hit! On my second batch I used a tiny bit more onion powder, black pepper and red pepper flakes than called for so we could have a bit more heat to balance the sweet. I've made this a dozen times now and have given it out as gifts, made it to take camping and sent some with my husband to work and everybody who's tried it has raved about it. The recipe makes way more liquid than needed for 1lb of meat, I've used this recipe to marinade 3lb of beef and it was fine. Put the marinade in a large ziplock bag, or divide between two depending on how much meat you have, squeeze out the air and let marinade over night for the most flavorful jerkey you've ever had. I not going to bother searching for another jerkey recipe, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was not good! I'm not sure how it got such high reviews. I followed the recipe exactly. The end result was slightly sticky jerky with a caramelized coating. It was more of "spicy beef candy" than a traditional jerky. Also, this make a LOT of marinade...you could use a lot more than the recommended 1lb of meat for the amount of marinade the recipe yielded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This recipe is great! Like others, I cut back about 50% on the liquid smoke. I also added a little bit of maple syrup and honey. Very impressed with this recipe. One of the best beef jerky's I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Very nice jerky recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss.Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by ksmith1
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I have to tell you BEST VENISON JERKY EVER!!! But I want to share my tweeks. For starters I used one whole back strap. But also Instead of pinaple juice I used coca cola I doubled the batch because I had 2 1/2 pounds of venison. I also used a whole tbs of fresh course ground pepper and instead of red pepper flakes I used a better hot pepper blend mine was homemade but anything hot with flavor! Soaked for 48 hrs. Smoked on a charcoal smoker with cherry wood. I also used vernors in the water bowl. Like I said best jerky I've ever had!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is the best jerky that i have ever made or purchased anywhere! Very flavorful with just a small bite of heat at the end. I make a large batch every couple months and it never seems to last around the house for more than a couple days. My extended family and co-workers are always bugging me to make more. Definitely give it a try. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Perfect recipe! A lot of ingredients but well worth it! One tip that I do, put everything in a 1 gallon zip lock bag with all the air pushed out to marinade. Every few hours I mix the bag without ever opening it. This way produces a more even flavoring and is much less messy! When I am done, I take the meat out and throw away the messy bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe. This was our first time making beef jerky and it came out delicious! The only thing we didn't add was the red pepper flakes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Yummy! So good! We did it with round steak. Will try it with all sorts of different cuts of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States