Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe! It has a wonderful sweet flavor, but does not have an odd after taste that teriyaki jerky often does. I kicked up the red pepper flakes the second time around as I like alittle more heat. This recipe works well with both venison and beef. Marinating longer is better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGSKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
WOW!!!!! My husband is a first time hunter...got a moose and brought home a couple hunderd pounds of it! This is incredible! First time I have ever made jerky or done anything with "wild" game! I have to make it every other day because it doesn't make it to any of the three F's ~ fridge, freezer or friends! I didn't have pineapple juice or the teriyaki (sp?). So went without! Delicious! Used the marinade twice ~ there was enough and didn't want to throw out! First batch was with round the second top sirloin...both great. Sirloin a better choice! Incredible and my fam loves it with some cayanne in marinade and sprinkled on lightly before oven! 100 stars if I could give it! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I put a little cayenne pepper, and a big scoop of chili garlic sauce which made it spicy and real juicy!! it is smoky but if you store in a big bag for a day or two the flavor will just amaze you :) I put in the oven on 170 degrees and used tooth picks to hold up the meat on the rack for 4-5 hours and was very juicy. I also used London Broil and had Ralphs my grocery store slice up the meet real thin and I got about 3Ibs. I noticed when I changed the servings it was way to much and could of made another 5-6Ibs more if I wanted with what I had. word of advice, stay with the recommended amount with 4 servings if you are going to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
We use this recipe for EVERY backpacking trip. Love the sweetness added by the pineapple juice. Other than adding a little extra red pepper flakes to the mix, we follow the recipe exactly. It's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This jerky is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Yum! this was very good, just the right level of sweet. i did omit the hotter spices because i don't always do well with smoldering food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I have been making this all day! My daughter loves it..I used elk and apple juice instead of the pineapple juicel like another reviewer and this is great! I had just bought a counter top convection, toaster, and rotisserie oven and wanted to use it..It was perfect. The oven set on convection bake at 150 deg. and about 3 1/2 hours later it was done. Next time I think I will add ALL the spice to the marinade and more pepper flakes. But this is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
most excellent! This was great and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
We raise beef cattle so I'm always looking for the "better" jerky recipe. Have tried many and this is probably the best. Marinated short cut rump and london broil steaks (about 5 lbs. total) in a double batch of the exact recipe and had enough left over for another 5 pounds of meat. Think I'm done looking for jerky recipes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
So easy to make and great flavor. I had to throw some in the freezer just so it wasn't all consumed in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States