Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This is the best jerky recipe I've made . Followed the recipe but left out the liquid smoke .Made this in our smoker cooked at 200 for 4hours it is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I have used allrecipes for years, but have never felt compelled to write a review before now. I made this jerky yesterday with a mixture of venison and beef, and it is easily, hands-down the best jerky I have ever had. The family agrees! I mixed the spices in with the marinade instead of doing the rub, marinated overnight, then into the dehydrator. We tripled the meat - the recipe above for the marinade can easily handle three pounds of meat. So addictive, we're starting another batch tonight. Perfect balance of flavours, and the smell is heavenly. Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe! If there was a Nobel Prize for jerky, it would be yours!(lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Stark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made this exactly according to the directions. Amazing. I will not be searching any further for another recipe. This is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Didnt have teriyaki- excellent anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Excellent flavor for my deer jerky. After not making any venison jerky for over ten years because it was too much hassle, I decided to drag out the old dehydrator after my latest harvest of a couple of deer. The problem...I had long forgotten my recipe and needed a new one. I've always liked the sweet and spicy jerky I purchased in the store so decided to give this one a try. We are sure glad I did! I followed the recipe with only a few exceptions. First I always marinate the meat overnight using ziplock bags. Every time I get in the fridge for something I work the meat around without having to open the bag. The result is less mess with evenly and thoroughly marinated meat. Secondly I'm not crazy about the liquid smoke taste so I cut it back and even omitted it on one batch. I guess that's up to personal preference. Lastly and probably most importantly to us, instead of the crushed black and red pepper I used in its place some creole seasoning and McCormick Caribbean Jerk seasoning. It resulted in some great jerky...sweet with just enough pop of heat. Sweet, spicy and OH SO GOOD! My family and friends are eating it faster than I can make it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Hands. Down. The best! I did only use 3 TBL mesquite liquid smoke and did ~4 hours at my lowest temp, 170F. The flavor is phenomenal, I would recommend using 2 lbs of sirloin tip since it makes a lot of marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Made this recipe and its the best jerky ive ever tasted BAR NONE! Took it to work with me and they all said the same thing! To the people on here that said its not good, your pallet is smoking crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I have smoked jerky for 15 years and have tried many recipes. After reading the reviews; I decided to try the recipe. However; instead of using pineapple juice I used 1 can of frozen concentrated pineapple juice. Pineapple juice is a natural meat tenderizer and it breaks up the chewy fiber in the meat. Using concentrated vs. juice will give you the real sweet taste of pineapple. Also, I added crushed pepper flakes / sprinkled over the meat before it went to the smoker. It adds heat to the jerky so you get the heat and sweet taste. Basically, I used everything in the recipe except I added concentrate vs. juice and added additional red pepper flakes after marinating the steak. The overall taste of the jerky was excellent and friends that try all of my different types of jerky liked this one the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Handy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Used 3 tbsp. liquid smoke instead of 5. Add 3 tbsp. honey No additional salt Moose meat best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angel
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Best jerky ever!!! Followed recipe to the letter except 2 things: low sodium soy sauce and half of the suggested liquid smoke. This will define tell be the family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States