Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Used 3 tbsp. liquid smoke instead of 5. Add 3 tbsp. honey No additional salt Moose meat best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angel
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Best jerky ever!!! Followed recipe to the letter except 2 things: low sodium soy sauce and half of the suggested liquid smoke. This will define tell be the family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is the best jerky EVER! I love making this so much I have to keep from eating it raw! OH MY GOD does it make my mouth water!!!!! I have made it by the recipe and then i made some adjustments. (it was a touch too spicy for my crew.) 1. I never have teriyaki sauce so I just add more soy sauce and pineapple 2. I cut the liquid smoke to 2 or 3 teaspoons. 3. I dump all the spices in the liquid. 4. I cut the red pepper to 1/4 tsp and the black to 1 teaspoon mainly because I ran out of cracked black pepper and had to use ground. That said. its good GOOD! I love love love this! I also dont let it dry to the dry dry stage. I like a little chewiness to my jerky. Its soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
The Good,the bad n`the jerky ... dust ball Rolling by ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowCrab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Well, for 1 lb of sliced meat...the liquid (2 cups) is a bit much. I looked at the ingredients and did my own thing. Like, I didn't use garlic/onion powders (used minced grn onion and pasted roasted garlic). Went lower with brown sugar and used a red wine vinegar. I also have dried Habanero and Jalapeno powders I incorporated so I backed off the black & red pepper. And because I like it, I added grated peel from 1 tangerine and it's juice. Anyway...after trimming a 1.9 oz Angus bottom round roast (found it on sale) I ended up with 1.3 oz of sliced meat. Once it dried (I have a dehydrator) then it turned into 9 oz of finished product (about 4 hours dehydration). I don't believe you need to have the meat 'swimming' in marinade for good results. I had enough marinade to thoroughly coat meat slices in a large zip bag and massaged it around every few hours before it sat overnight. Good jerky marinade recipe you can fool around with easily. I also do a cross cut on the meat (I have a small electric slicer). Not totally with or against the meat grain. This seems to produce the best chew for jerky. Thanks for the post DIXYCHICK. For 5 bucks I got a decent batch you would pay twice as much for from a vendor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipie was AWESOME!!!! I also added 4 TBS of Jalapeno puree and 3 TBS of Sriracha sauce. And I replaced the black pepper with 1 tsp of red pepper. This really added flavor and little heat to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I had to create an account because I had to give credit for this recipe. It's perfect. If you want it hotter just add some more Tabasco. Everybody I shared it with loved it also. Especially my wife. She ate about two bags to herself. Thank you very much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I added more red pepper flakes to make spicier. It was absolutely delectable. I also made some without the red pepper flakes for my husband because he doesn't like spicy. It's the best jerky that we have tried I highly recommend it. Oh I also added an extra half cup of pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe twice without changing anything except trying several different cuts of meat. My husband wanted beef jerky so I put the first batch in and showed him how to do it. Over the next couple of days he had made several batches to take on a trip out of town. Yeah, now he can make it whenever he wants to. I don't eat jerly, but my husband said this is a 5-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I have made jerky for 20 years. This recipe is pretty good. After reading the comments; I decided to make some minor tweaks. First; I doubled the pineapple juice and simmered it to concentrate the sweetness. Then, I added a ¼ cup of orange juice along with the other ingredients ( I use a smoker so, I omitted the liquid smoke). I doubled the dry ingredients / coated the meat and let it marinade for 4 hours. Then I added the liquid marinade and let it set over night. I don’t pound the meat before smoking; I like the big chew. “This step is essential” before smoking / dehydrating; take meat and out of the marinade and place it on a towel. Place another towel on top to absorb the moisture. Then, put the meat on a rack (uncovered) for an hour or until the color turns grey. This helps the curing process and stops the marinade / seasoning from exiting the meat when smoking dehydrating. I hope you find this hint helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States