Jerk Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This was very good. I only put half of the cayanne in to make it kid friendly. The whole family loved it. This is much healthier (no msg and other ingredients that we can't pronounce) than the store bought versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was good but nothing like I had in Jamaica, I also felt that it was a little dry. The taste was good, the heat factor was ok, I did add a little more cayenne than called for, I grilled mine on chicken over coals and wood using indirect heat to keep from burning. Not sure I will use again with out figuring out how to keep it from being so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by griller3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I thank you or the recipe it was exactly what I needed to put a twist on my fried turkeys. I put the dry rub on and let sit for 18hrs. It add "something different" as everyone kept telling me last week at a family get together. But the real secret was the combination of your spice mixture and my honey glazing of the turkey. This was Outstanding!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This was really good stuff! A bit on the dry side but I expected that. My husband looooved it!! So did my 3 yr old son!!! I had to add extra pepper cause hubby likes it extra hot. AS you can see the 3 yr old loves spicy food too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Dover Air Force Base, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This is very good seasoning. I used it on chicken and let it marinate for 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This makes EVERYTHING taste so good. I personally don't like things too hot and this gives just enough kick for me. I also love the fact that I don't have to marinate, and when I put this on fish, it comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I thought this was really good. Low on the heat scale but still pretty good. Traditionally, jerk seasoning has cinnamon and sometimes nutmeg in it. I like the flavor of jerk but not w/the cinnamon/nutmeg thing. I left out the cinnamon on this one. If you think this is "dry", this is basically a "dry rub" for your meat. If you want something different you need to try a jerk paste. Toss a medium onion in a processor and then add the rest of the ingredients. Throw in some habenero or jalapeno to! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
I'm still trying to find a jerk recipe like the one we had on our honeymoon -- this was close, but still missing something. I liked that I didn't have to marinate overnight, so I could throw this together for a quick weekday dinner. Pretty spicy (but I did use half-inch boneless pork chops).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
It was easy and just what I was looking for.Thanks I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
A good taste, with enough spice to be interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seachick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States