Jerk Grilled Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This is amazing!!! I used a jalapeño pepper instead of a habanero pepper, but it was still delicious. Not too spicy, but I like my jerk chicken just a little tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times now and my husband and I love it. I do not generally have allspice or nutmeg (I don't care for it) so those two ingredients were omitted. Also, I didn't want it to be too spicy so I left out the habanero pepper. Having said that, I don't think the alterations greatly affect the integrity of the recipe (I don't like it when people rate recipes based on a bunch of changes that they have made - ratings should be based on the recipe as written, or as close to it as possible). At some point I will likely buy allspice and nutmeg so I can see what difference they make to the recipe. Right now though, we love this recipe without those ingredients - and when we can prepare food for those who can handle some spice, we will definitely make it with the peppers. Very tasty recipe for chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
this came out beyond wonderful.. i used dried thyme and only 1/8 tsp b/c i'm not a fan.. halved the oil like someone else suggested.. used 8 drumsticks instead of the wings.. cooked on a charcoal grill.. i almost never care for skin and i had no problem enjoying it.. we finished every single drumstick just amongst the two of us.. that's how awesome it was.. we had this with some sauteed kale and jamaican "rice and peas" recipe from another site.. ty for the recipe =) ~~UPDATE: this was awesome yet again.. i used this for three 8 oz boneless pork chops.. i halved the black pepper and doubled the habanero pepper.. it wasn't super spicy but i did de-seed de-vein the peppers.. it was just super flavorful.. this will be my goto jerk recipe.. ty again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
They were very good, but not authentic jerk flavor. If you want real jerk flavor, get an authentic Jerk recipe or order Walkerswood Jerk Marinade. I've used it for years. It is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
We made these for New Years to go with our Caribbean themed meal. They turned out okay. Not too spicy. More like a very seasoned chicken wing. We also baked them in the oven due to the extreme temperatures in WI this time of year. I thought the wings would be dry in the oven, but the marinade bakes off and they were perfected moist with a slightly crisp skin. The sauce left in the pan went WONDERFULLY with the cilantro lime rice from this website. To get more of a kick, i may add a little more jalepeno next time (i must admit that we only used 2 jalepeno peppers without the seeds due to us have small kids around). Overall, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I loved the chicken this recipe is a keeper...I didn't have fresh ginger or thyme, but i did have ground so I used that..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I have never tasted anything like this before! It was very interesting and fresh. I used chopped jalapeno instead of a habanero pepper but otherwise added all ingredients as listed. We marinaded for 2 days (not on purpose) and then deep fried. These wings were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Brought these to a bbq last night and everybody loved them. I marinated them for more like 24 hours and didn't have a habanero so I added some habanero hot sauce. Instead of whisking the oil into the juice and seasonings I just dumped it all into a big mason jar and gave it a good shake, much easier. The wings were delicious and I will definately be using this marinade again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Tiff_Tiff
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Tasty! I used ground ginger instead of fresh ginger and used a jalapeno pepper instead of habanero. The 1/2 cup of oil is a little much, so I reduced it to 1/4 cup. The recipe makes alot of marinade for 12 wings, so I doubled the amount of wings. Lastly, I baked mine at 375 for 20-25 mins without basting. Turned on the broiler to crisp it up for a few mins and perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Grill Master Chicken Wings

Enjoy marinated and grilled chicken wings with a spicy soy sauce.

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States