Jerk Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I made my own jerk paste using a recipe from another website. I marinated the chicken overnight and it was great. Unfortunately, the pasta sauce did not taste good. I made 2 batches of the sauce. I tried again thinking that I must have made a mistake on the first try - but this was not good either. The sauce was too thin, and tasted strange. I ended up putting olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper on my egg noodles to save the meal, because there was no way I was putting that sauce on my noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This tasted like something out of a restaurant! I made a few changes. I did not use jerk paste (couldn't find it). I used a jerk seasoning rub from the site, used a portion, and added a bit of olive oil to it to make a paste. Instead of using chicken, I broiled 4 tilapia coated with olive oil on both sides, then sprinkled with salt and the homemade jerk seasoning. For the cream, I substituted coconut cream. That "made" the recipe for me. It went over well with company and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This tasted pretty good, but it was so hard. In my opinion, it was not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Mmmm! I made this recipe a few months ago and liked it, but didn't think I would make it again...until I got a serious craving for it the other night! So this time I made some changes, making it even better: 1. Cut the chicken into pieces and marinated each piece with the jerk paste to give it a spicier flavour. Then I cooked the chicken in a skillet. While I drained most of the juices, I heated my sauce in the same pan, giving the sauce more of a jerk flavour. However I did omit the extra jerk paste from the sauce. (PS, I'm Canadian and I used the Presidents Choice Jerk Sauce & Marinate). 2. I sauteed yellow and orange bell peppers,red pepper flakes, peas and onions in with the garlic. 3. I added some flour into the sauce to thicken it. I also threw the chicken in after I added the cream and let it thicken a bit. I really really liked this recipe, especially with my changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Great recipe! I've been to Jamaica twice and always enjoy their jerk chicken. This was an interesting way to eat it. I used Linguini in lieu of egg noodles. I thought the sauce was a bit watery too, but hey, it was good. Next time I think I'll add some veggies to it. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This recipe is great. I make enough for several days, & my kids just heat up the leftovers anytime they want. The kids just love it. I cut the chicken into bit size pieces & cook in the skillet, then I mix the chicken into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Durkee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Munford, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was really good! Would have been perfect with some veggies added in - maybe some bell peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
All I can say is Wow! This was an awesome recipe. I am enjoying the leftovers for lunch today and am a little disappointed that there aren't more leftovers. I did make a few changes to the recipe, per other's suggestions. I added mushrooms, artichoke hearts, and frozen peas and carrots to the sauce. I also added some extra wine and chicken broth since I added so many vegetables. Then I mixed some flour (1 tbsp) with milk to thicken up the sauce, but honestly it didn't really thicken it at all. The sauce was still runny and seeped right through the noodles on my plate and sat at the bottom. I, of course, had no problem spooning up the sauce, but next time I may add a little more flour so that I can really get a nice thick sauce. I will definitely add this recipe to my Hall of Fame and make as often as my husband will let me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Good recipe, my ten year old loves chicken pasta dishes and I like to try to mix it up. The only problem I had was that this was a little runny. I added some rue to thicken the sauce. I have used both a grilled chicken and a sautéd chicken with flour and olive oil plus jerk seasoning and both are very good. The sauté chicken is a little less spicy and can give a good alternative to mix things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This was delicious. We made our on jerk paste, still spicy, but we add a little cheese and flour to the sauce to make it thicker. It was delicious not too spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States