Jen's Tomato Arugula Bruschetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
This is delicious! I cut this recipe down to 4-5 servings. I used 3 plum tomatoes, 2 tablespoons olive oil, 1 large clove garlic, 3 sun-dried tomatoes, small amount of chopped arugula, ground black pepper to taste and 1 tablespoon of grated cheese. This was so good, we ate it right out of the skillet served on french bread. I will make this again and next time I will try it chilled in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
I have prepared this recipe twice -- once in the summer and once in the winter. I have learned that for best results use ripe, fresh tomatoes from the vine. If your tomatoes have no flavor than this appetizer will suffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Nice flavor. I forgot about this until two days later and the flavors were very nice. Can see making this again for a dinner party. Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Skipped the sundried tomatoes and doubled the arugula. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Refreshing! It was so nice to have a light, healthy and refreshing option at the holiday party. Even though it wasn't the first thing to go people appreciated having something a bit more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
I like the flavor of this bruschetta, although it's just a bit sweeter than I would prefer due to the sun-dried tomatoes. Also, I was a bit conservative with the arugula - I recommend using a lot! I was worried there would be too much liquid, even after I drained the tomatoes before tossing them into the skillet; however, after chilling in the refrigerator for about 10 hours, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
loved the recipe but didn't like the cooking part. I think it should be fresh tasting if it is going to be a brushetta. I add the garlic, parmesan and olive oil to the food prossessor and made a pesto, then added then sundried tomatoes and gave it a course chop spread that on the bread and then added the fresh chopped tomatoes and garnished with a chiffonade of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I made this raw and served it in endive leaves, and it was very good. I liked the use of the sun-dried tomatoes (I used fresh rather than oil-packed)--they added a nice texture. The arugula flavor didn't come through quite as much as I'd hoped, though. Next time, I'll add more and mix in some fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I ended up combining others ideas for this recipe. 1st off I halved it. 2ndly I parboiled the tomatoes for 3 minutes. Put everything in the food processor and pulsed til it was chopped. Didn't cook it anymore. Made crostini out of the French bread. After about 3 hrs I drained the bruschetta and served it on the crostini--delicious. Probably used more arugula but I didn't measure it. Also my garlic were huge! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is about a 3+, but it's too much work for an OK recipe. The bruschetta topping sold at Trader Joe's is every bit as good, and factoring in all the time this takes, cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States