Jen's Heavenly Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Ok. This is my first review and I've been hesitant to place it because who am I to say...? Anyway, I had to comment on this one. If I'm going to use a recipe, I like to follow it exactly. This endeavor is difficult when the recipe reads, "1/2 lemon, juiced". I juiced half a lemon and, against my better judgement, added the full 3 + tablespoons it yeilded. My dressing was then so watery and SOOO tangy, making a very runny and tart egg salad. I guess I'm still confused why a recipe would call for so much lemon when it already calls for so much (vinegar-based) mayo. That's a lot of acid! I ended up adding 6 MORE eggs. In the extra time I had cooking my second batch of eggs, I ended up adding 3 tablespoons FINELY diced red bell pepper for color and crunch as well as 1 stalk FINELY diced celery stalk, 1 clove of garlic, minced and 1 large basil leaf THINLY sliced. In the end this made a DELICIOUS, not to mention cheap, lunch on whole wheat with baby spinach. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEZIREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I was looking for a different kind of egg salad for lunch today. It wasn't until I got most of the salad together when I realized I didn't have any green onions. I ended up dicing a stalk of celery instead. The combination of the mustards and lemon juice was a nice touch. I want to try it with the green onions next time and the watercress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Having never used or even heard of lemon juice in egg salad, I was curious enough to give it a try, but not adventurous enough to use the full amount. I probably used half what was called for and it proved to be enough to add a certain freshness but not so much as to be obviously noticeable. I loved the addition of the green onion, and thought the dill and celery I added were nice additions for flavor and crunch. This is a good, reliable egg salad recipe, certainly open to creative touches or additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I'm a dad running a business, taking care of a 6 & 8 year old, cleaning, laundry, cooking - the whole gamut. I made this almost as is - took VERY little time to make, left out the green onions for the kids, took me very little time in my busy schedule. My 8 year old was rolling her eyes back in her head as she ate hers, and talking about how wonderful it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
I was looking for a simple lunch sandwich with ingredients I had available and this was it. Very simple but tasty. I did add to the recipe a bit by adding chopped water chestnuts and some red cabbage to give the sandwich some more texture. Served it on toasted wheat bread with a couple pieces of lettuce. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out very good! This will be the only way I prepare egg salad from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
My husband loves this egg salad recipe! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This is wonderful, easy egg salad. Sometimes I replace the green onions with fresh chives. It's delicious both ways. We'll be having it in mini cream-puffs for an upcoming tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Good egg salad. I used vidalia onions instead, and no lemon juice because I did not have it. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This was really good. The flavors were great together. We will definately be making it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauai17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States