Jen's Heavenly Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I am not an egg salad eatter, however my husband simply cannot get enough of this stuff! I love egg salad because it's easy to make and you can make a huge batch early in the week and eat it for breakfast on a bagel, on crackers for a snack, or on bread for a sandwich. This is my new go-to egg salad recipe---HE LOVED IT! Only thing is next time I may not use as much Mayo, but that's just for his taste buds. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I usually don't like egg salad but this was awesome! The lemon taste is pretty strong but I like that!..I used red onion instead of green..very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
UPDATE: I have a lot of egg salad recipes that I have saved in my inbox, but none fo them seemed to have peaked my interest. This is the one I came back to and that I'm craving for right now! This the only egg salad that I will make from now on. Definitely the best egg salad recipe on this site. OLD REVIEW: The lemon gives a nice refreshing zest to the egg salad, but like many others, I didn't add all the lemon called for in the recipe. I cut about a 1/4 of a lemon which gave me 1-2 tsp of juice. I found it to be plenty for my taste and the dressing wasn't so runny. I used 6 small eggs and it was the right ratio to the dressing. If you decide use the juice of half a lemon, then I recommend that you use large or extra-large eggs for an nice balance. One thing to note that is not mentioned in the recipe, is to run the boiled eggs under cold water several times and/or leaving them in a cold bath for a few minutes, to make it easier to peel (without taking any of the white egg attached to the shell). This is a yummy recipe and I would definitely make it again. The recipe as written seems enough for 2 hungry people, but I would suggest doubling it for a family (only if using small eggs like I did). Thanks for sharing your recipe, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Awesome- thanks! I did not have dijon mustard handy, so I used honey mustard salad dressing and it turned out great. I also didn't have a lemon at home so I had to leave that out. I took other peoples suggestions and added peppers and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Delicious. Only thing I changed was adding 1/4 cup chopped celery for crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I love this egg salad! It's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Bellina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
A really great foundational recipe. The proportions are exactly on. I used the exact amounts called for in the recipe, and it came out perfect. I got about a 1/4 cup of lemon juice from my 1/2 lemon, and I was scared it would be too much, but it was perfect! It cuts the creaminess of the mayo, and you don't really taste the lemon, but it brightens everything up. I had to boil my eggs a little longer, but I live at high altitude, so maybe that has something to do with it. Would be amazing with green olives or capers. Great on crackers, toast, a piece of lettuce, and delicious stuffed in a fresh tomato! I added about 3/4 tsp of salt and a 1/4 tsp of pepper and it seemed right for what I needed it to be. Just a perfect springboarding recipe as the dressing is right on. Refrigerating for an hour or two really helps it come together and mellow out too. I would definitely recommend that. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
The flavors in this recipe are great-- I love the lightness the citrus adds to the salad. I'm not a huge fan of really creamy salads though, so I cut the mayo down to 3 T. Per others' suggestions, I cut down the lemon juice too (I actually used lime, but it turned out great!)- about 1-1/2 T. I added 1/4 cup finely diced green bell pepper, and 1 finely diced clove of garlic. If you throw the garlic in the lemon juice, it takes the bite out of the garlic, which is nice. I definitely want to try this again-- maybe I'll use the dressing on chicken, and add some curry and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I don't know what happened. I followed the directions to the letter, and the yolks refused to solidify with the rest of the egg. Fresh ones, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I don't think I've ever had egg salad before, so I don't know what it is supposed to taste like. But I'm now a convert -- this was delicious. I was cautious about adding the lemon juice after reading other reviews, but ended up using all the juice from half a lemon as called for in the recipe. I don't see what the problem is. I didn't have any green onions, but I added a little diced red pepper, which was very good. I don't think I would have liked this as much without the added crunch and flavor pop of the peppers. A little diced pickle would probably push this over the top for me. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States