Jen's Heavenly Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I am not an egg salad eatter, however my husband simply cannot get enough of this stuff! I love egg salad because it's easy to make and you can make a huge batch early in the week and eat it for breakfast on a bagel, on crackers for a snack, or on bread for a sandwich. This is my new go-to egg salad recipe---HE LOVED IT! Only thing is next time I may not use as much Mayo, but that's just for his taste buds. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I usually don't like egg salad but this was awesome! The lemon taste is pretty strong but I like that!..I used red onion instead of green..very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
UPDATE: I have a lot of egg salad recipes that I have saved in my inbox, but none fo them seemed to have peaked my interest. This is the one I came back to and that I'm craving for right now! This the only egg salad that I will make from now on. Definitely the best egg salad recipe on this site. OLD REVIEW: The lemon gives a nice refreshing zest to the egg salad, but like many others, I didn't add all the lemon called for in the recipe. I cut about a 1/4 of a lemon which gave me 1-2 tsp of juice. I found it to be plenty for my taste and the dressing wasn't so runny. I used 6 small eggs and it was the right ratio to the dressing. If you decide use the juice of half a lemon, then I recommend that you use large or extra-large eggs for an nice balance. One thing to note that is not mentioned in the recipe, is to run the boiled eggs under cold water several times and/or leaving them in a cold bath for a few minutes, to make it easier to peel (without taking any of the white egg attached to the shell). This is a yummy recipe and I would definitely make it again. The recipe as written seems enough for 2 hungry people, but I would suggest doubling it for a family (only if using small eggs like I did). Thanks for sharing your recipe, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Awesome- thanks! I did not have dijon mustard handy, so I used honey mustard salad dressing and it turned out great. I also didn't have a lemon at home so I had to leave that out. I took other peoples suggestions and added peppers and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Delicious. Only thing I changed was adding 1/4 cup chopped celery for crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I love this egg salad! It's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Bellina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
A really great foundational recipe. The proportions are exactly on. I used the exact amounts called for in the recipe, and it came out perfect. I got about a 1/4 cup of lemon juice from my 1/2 lemon, and I was scared it would be too much, but it was perfect! It cuts the creaminess of the mayo, and you don't really taste the lemon, but it brightens everything up. I had to boil my eggs a little longer, but I live at high altitude, so maybe that has something to do with it. Would be amazing with green olives or capers. Great on crackers, toast, a piece of lettuce, and delicious stuffed in a fresh tomato! I added about 3/4 tsp of salt and a 1/4 tsp of pepper and it seemed right for what I needed it to be. Just a perfect springboarding recipe as the dressing is right on. Refrigerating for an hour or two really helps it come together and mellow out too. I would definitely recommend that. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
The flavors in this recipe are great-- I love the lightness the citrus adds to the salad. I'm not a huge fan of really creamy salads though, so I cut the mayo down to 3 T. Per others' suggestions, I cut down the lemon juice too (I actually used lime, but it turned out great!)- about 1-1/2 T. I added 1/4 cup finely diced green bell pepper, and 1 finely diced clove of garlic. If you throw the garlic in the lemon juice, it takes the bite out of the garlic, which is nice. I definitely want to try this again-- maybe I'll use the dressing on chicken, and add some curry and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I don't know what happened. I followed the directions to the letter, and the yolks refused to solidify with the rest of the egg. Fresh ones, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I don't think I've ever had egg salad before, so I don't know what it is supposed to taste like. But I'm now a convert -- this was delicious. I was cautious about adding the lemon juice after reading other reviews, but ended up using all the juice from half a lemon as called for in the recipe. I don't see what the problem is. I didn't have any green onions, but I added a little diced red pepper, which was very good. I don't think I would have liked this as much without the added crunch and flavor pop of the peppers. A little diced pickle would probably push this over the top for me. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States