Jen's Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
My kids (9 and 6) usually don't like stew like dishes but they did eat some of this. I had more than 3 cups of butternut squash, so I added water that was flavored with tomato paste. I used ground chicken, which I browned with onion and garlic. I used a homemade taco seasoning that I got from allrecipes, and that allows me to control the level of heat and spice I put in. I keep it very mild for the kids. My husband and I then added a few dashes of hot sauce to our plates. I served it with crusty Whole Wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was really good, my picky eater (age 7) ate the whole thing without complaining. I followed the recipe but I did add more water (maybe a Cup),some onion powder and 2 garlic cloves. After the beef was ready, I placed everything in a slow cooker on low for 4 hours, because I wasn't going to have time to make the soup later. Turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I love mushrooms, but don't think they work here. Otherwise loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitewater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very good quick soup- the taco seasoning gives more flavor considering the short cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Bayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
The recipe was good, but next time I will chop up an onion and some garlic to add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I made this and it was GREAT. I did add more water. My kids even had seconds and they normally dont eat veggies (what kids really do)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was really quite tasty. The store did not have savoy cabbage, so I had to use bok choy. I also did not put the full amount of carrots in. I did have to increase the water as my veggies started to stick to the bottom of the pot. I also did not have flavored salt or garlic salt, but adding pepper at the end was fine. It is very hearty. My favorite part was the squash and while I did not measure it, I used a whole buttercup squash, so I'm sure there was more than 3 c. Definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This soup was so good that my kids asked for seconds and possibly thirds of it. The only thing I used different was ground turkey rather than ground beef. My family thought it was great and they asked that I make it again, I also made if for church potluck and came home with an empty pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Loved this "stew". Didn't have cabbage so I used frozen peas. Made the ground beef like I do tacos (by mixing the taco seasoning with water), which added 1/4th cup to the water. House smelled wonderful for the hour it "stewed". Loved loved loved it! Next time I will add more squash. It was my favorite ingredient. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsjennib

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I also used 3/4 cup of water. Also used Baby Bella mushrooms. Even my friend who despises vegetables loved it. Delicious and fulling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States