Jen's Chorizo Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was an awesome pasta.. But I changed the recipe some what. I bought the chorizo from the meat market down the street. I didn't grill it because chorizo has so much flavor I didn't want to loose it and you will with grilling, so I steamed/water boiled it in a pan. When I pulled the sausage out of the pan I kept all the grease in there and sauteed the onions, bell pepper and mushrooms in the grease.. I didn't use the extra 1 tablespoon butter. It was great! :) My husband really loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Awesome!!! The only thing I changed was sauteing the onion and garlic then adding the rest of the veggies followed by the cream and cheese. It was amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaytonsMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was really good. My family and I really enjoyed it. I used Portuguese Chourico links and instead of grilling them I just sauteed them in a pan with the onion and pepper. I also left out the mushrooms because we are not mushroom eating people. Will certainly make this again. Thanks Jen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe! I made a few minor changes, which is easy to do with most "one dish" dinners. I sauteed the mushrooms in about one cup dry white wine and then added the already partially sauteed onions and peppers. I also added the garlic at this time. After the mushrooms were soft, I added the butter, parmesan, cream and Chorizo. To this I added a drained 12 ounce can of black beans. I tasted it and it brought tears to my eyes. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
We absolutely LOVE this! We have a family of 8 and you can bulk this up just by adding extra noodles and sauce and there is still plenty of meat and veggies! I use bulk chorizo to spread it further than chunked links. And this recipe is so forgiving! I used an extra 1/2 box penne tonight so I added an extra 1/2 of the sauce recipe. Didn't have enough butter this time, but 1 cup was plenty. You can cook the sauce a little, a lot, have the veggies crunchy, soft, more butter, less butter, etc. and it still turns out wonderfully! Like I said, forgiving recipe! One of our faves and definitely worth a try if you're looking for something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
My family LOVED this dish. I can't eat parm cheese so I just left it out. We didn't miss it at all. We didn't grill the sausage- I just took it out of the casing and browned it like hamburger meat. I used portabella mushrooms so the sauce was a funny gray color. Next time I will stick with the white mushrooms just for aesthetics. Thank you Jen for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was the first time I had used (or even tasted) chorizo. It was a great recipe to try it out! I loved it! I did change the recipe a little to my personal preference...3/4 cup of butter instead of a full cup, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 cup of milk, 1/8 tsp crushed red peppers. I also used one chopped portobello mushroom instead of button mushrooms, which gave this dish great flavor! My boyfriend and I are in love with this recipe, and will be making it again! It will now be a staple for us. As amazing as I thought this was, the leftovers left something to be desired. While my co-worker enjoyed it and said it was "restaurant-quality" :) I felt that the sauce had separated and was very very greasy tasting. I enjoyed it much more when it was fresh. I will scale back the recipe next time, as this made enough to feed a small army!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Followed recipe with only the following substitution; used 1 cup Lactose Free Milk in place of the heavy whipping cream. This dish is Delicious with a capital D! We loved it. You could also use Sweet Italian Sausage or any sauage for that matter. Very creamy and very yummy! It's in the Quick & Easy file. I'll make again soon on nights I need a quick, easy, filling and DELICIOUS dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Awesome! The grocery store unfortunately didnt have chorizo so I bought hot Italian sausage and it was still fantastic. Will definitely try and find chorizo for next time. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timwsherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was great and very flavorful. The chorizo in this is so yummy. I made it very close to the recipe except a little less butter. Other than that there is nothing I would change. My husband had three servings and my picky 8 year old son had seconds (except for the red peppers). It may use a couple of pans but so worth the extra dish washing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States